PSYC 16 (Ruys) - Animal Behavior: Web Resources

Sample search terms:

• dogs AND jealousy [OR emotions]
• infanticide AND lions
• cats AND socialization
• orcas OR "killer whales" AND vocalization
• dolphins AND "signature whistles" [OR whistl* / communication / language]
• chimpanzees AND social play

=> add limiters: site:edu; site:gov

Google Scholar:

If you find an article in Google Scholar, try to find the full-text article in our Library's databases:

Academic Search Complete

Biological Science Collection

PsycARTICLES

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Here is a list of 22 full-text journals in Health & Biological Sciences: Zoology: Animal Behavior you can find in these databases.

---

Also, from SFPL (with a library card):

JSTOR

Animal Behavior in the News

e-Nature.com: Field Guides - "Field guide to more than 5,500 animals and plants. Birds section includes audio clips."

Smithsonian's National Zoo & Conservation Biology Institute: Meet the Animals - The zoo cares for about 1,800 animals representing 300 species. Fact sheets include description, size, native habitat, communication, food/eating habit, social structure, reproduction and development, sleep habits, and lifespan.

Primate Info Net: Factsheets - Factsheets cover "one or more species and include morphology, ecology, behavior, and conservation with range maps, images, and an extensive glossary of terms, references, and links." From the National Primate Research Center, Univ. of Wisconsin Madison.

 

 

American Field Guide: Animals - video clips of amphibians, birds, fish, insects, mammals, and reptiles. PBS.

AmphibiaWeb - provides species descriptions, life history information, conservation status, photos, on amphibian biology and conservation

Animal Information - Click on Search the Database for extensive information about animals, including scientific classification, habitat and distribution, physical characteristics, senses, behavior, diet and eating habits, reproduction, birth and care of their young, communication, conservation... Includes information about endangered species, animal rescue and rehabilitation, coral reefs, tropical forests, and zoological careers.

Beetle Science - information about beetles (insect order Coleoptera), including images of beetles, a timeline and videos about the Asian longhorned beetle, an interactive representation of biodiversity, and a lab tour

BiologyBrowser - “Biology information from a trusted source, ... produced by BIOSIS, is a free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community”

BirdCentral.net - wild birds "photos and natural history of 406 of the 600+ species found in the lower 48 states"

Borror Lab Home Page - “houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world.” Search by common or scientific name from the “approximately 28,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals.”

Bug Bytes - a collection of more than forty insect sound files by species name or subject, including are various larvae and adult insect feedings; movements of soil invertebrates; insects in plants; wing vibrations, and more

Butterflies of California - Swallowtails (Family Papilionidae) Whites and Sulphurs (Family Pieridae), Gossamer-wing Butterflies (Family Lycaenidae), Metalmarks (Family Riodinidae), Brush-footed Butterflies (Family Nymphalidae), and Skippers (Family Hesperiidae)

California Academy of Sciences - Steinhart Aquarium, Natural History Museum, Morrison Planetarium: " ...devoted to the study, display and interpretation of scientific collections which inspire people of all ages to explore the rich variety of life on Earth"

California Dragonflies and Damselflies: AKA California Odonata - "information on and photographs of all the species of dragonflies and damselflies in California..."

California's Wildlife - information on the 600+ amphibians, birds, mammals, and reptiles found in California: including name, distribution, habitat requirements, life history, and bibliography (Zeiner, D.C., ed. California's Wildlife. 1988-1990.

Cephalopod Page - contains photographs and thoroughly researched information on many species of octopus, squid, cuttlefish, and other cephalopods.

Cetacea - "background information on every species of whale, dolphin and porpoise known to humankind ..."

Checklist of Amphibian Species and Identification Guide - "Checklist of all amphibian species and subspecies currently recognized in North America north of Mexico"

Comparative Mammalian Brain Collections - "Photographs of brains of over 100 different species of mammals (including humans) representing 17 mammalian orders."

The Echinoids - information about sea urchins; how they live, feed, and reproduce; an alphabetic listing of their taxa; ; diagnostic features, distribution, which species are included; and the morphology or anatomy of sand dollars and heart-urchins as well as regular echonoids

Enter the Hive - a view of the structure of a bee hive with information on pollination, developing larva, storing honey, and the Hive

eSkeletons Project - compare the bones of a human, a chimpanzee or baboon: "high-quality images of bones, labels of all muscles, articulations, and morphological features..."

 Family Scarabaeidae - "The family Scarabaeidae is a remarkable group of beetles, many of which are the largest insect species on the planet. This site profiles the natural history of 25 of the most spectacular ones from around the world, with details on the life cycles of many"

Farallones Marine Sanctuary Association - provides educational fact sheets on the Gulf of the Farallones' inhabiting marine mammals and intertidal creatures

Fish FAQ (NEFSC) - provides fascinating facts and answers to questions about fish, shellfish, other creatures living in the sea, and the marine environment

Freshwater and Marine Image Bank -2600+ images dating from 1735 to 1924 "related to freshwater and marine topics, in all their diversity."

Friends of the Sea Otter - information on sea otters, including sea otter behavior, a California otter range map, California otter census figures since 1982, endangered status ...

FrogWeb: Amphibian Declines and Deformities - information about the decline in population and rise in deformities for United States and worldwide frogs, toads, and salamanders. (Links to Current Biological Issues of Biodiversity, Biology in the News, Bird Conservation, Coral Reefs, Invasive Species, Pollinator Declines, West Nile Virus, Wildlife Disease)

Hexacorallians of the World - Sea Anemones, Corals and Their Allies. Catalogue of species, [Actiniaria, Corallimorpharia, and Ptychodactiaria], bibliography of literature in which they were described, inventory of type specimens, distribution maps, and images

Infrared Zoo - features thermal infrared photographs of dozens of animals including birds, mammals, reptiles and amphibians, and insects and arachnids, including an illustrated essay on the differences between warm-blooded and cold-blooded animals

Insect Mouthparts - a guide to illustrate the functions of insect chewing, siphoning, piercing, sponging, and combinations

Insectclopedia - insect information, including a section where species are covered alphabetically, insect control, research, identification, and pests found in crops, forests, gardens, homes, and lawns

Los Angeles Spider Survey - features information about common spiders in Los Angeles, an image gallery, and a brief overview of spider biology

Mammal Species of the World -includes "the names of the 4,629 currently recognized species of mammals, in a taxonomic hierarchy that includes Order, Family, Subfamily, and Genus," based on . Search by common or scientific name, or query the database of scientific synonyms. This database from the (1993 data,American Society of Mammalogists,Smithsonian)

Marine Biology Web - educational resource for marine biology students

Marine Mammal Center - Northern California non-profit works with rescue, research, and education programs to "recognize human interdependence with marine mammals [and] foster their survival and the conservation of their habitat."

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary - official site for educational, research, recreational, and visitor information on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary

Museum of Vertebrate Zoology Data Access - database of 600,000+ specimen records and some photographs of amphibians, birds, bird eggs, mammals, and reptiles

National Biological Information Infrastructure - Use the NBII to answer a wide range of questions related to the management, use, or conservation of this nation's biological resources.

National Marine Mammal Laboratory's Education Web Site - detailed information on all types of marine mammals, including whales, dolphins, and porpoises. Information on Marine Mammal Science and data about pursuing a career in marine mammal science is also covered

Nomina Insecta Nearctica - A Checklist of the Insects of North America

Opossum Society of the United States - dedicated to “North America's only marsupial,” including background information a FAQ, educational materials, photos, and other materials

Otter Project - "the Otter Project exists to promote the rapid recovery of the California sea otter, an indicator of near shore ocean health, by facilitating research and communicating research results to the general public and policy makers"

Otternet - habitat, population status, threats to species, photo gallery and links

Pollination Home Page - general information on bees and pollination as well as links to practical resources for growers and beekeepers

Pronunciation of Biological Latin: Including Taxonomic Names of Plants and Animals - covers vowels, stress on syllables, commemorative names, and other matters

Quail, Valley: State Bird of California  - features the valley quail, Lophortyx californica; its habits and habitats; and includes an image

Ravens - scientific information and folklore on the raven and related birds in the crow family

Social Insects World Wide Web - Ants, bees, termites, wasps... from the American Museum of Natural History

Spiders and Other Arachnids at UC Riverside - articles, distribution map, and identification information for brown recluse spiders; and facts and photographs of other types of spiders (including hobo spiders and daddy-longlegs)

Tarantulas - An introduction which provides general comments on each species temperament and general location with color photos of each tarantula discussed. General care instructions for keeping tarantulas as pets are also provided

Tarantula's Burrow - searchable databases about tarantulas and scorpions

Tool Use in Corvids - discussion of tool use and tool making by crows is illustrated; investigates "the biology of decision-making with the tools of evolutionary biology and experimental psychology"

Vertebrate Flight Exhibit - includes information on types of aerial locomotion (parachuting, gliding, flight, soaring), physics (biomechanics), and evolutionary theory (ground up and trees down scenarios); profiles the origin and evolution of flight in pterosaurs, birds, and bats

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife: WildWatchCams - live videos of native wildlife: eagles, bats, heron, salmon, and seals, including news and information on each species