About Articles
Finding Articles for Your Research
Articles are a great way to explore specific parts of your topic. Articles provide different perspectives depending on their type—popular, scholarly, or peer-reviewed.
How to Find Articles:
- Select a Database: Use the pull-down tab below to choose a recommended database for this class.
- Search: Enter keywords related to your topic in the database search bar.
- Refine Your Search: Filter your results to find the most relevant articles.
- Save and Cite: Capture the details of useful articles and cite them in Noodletools or another citation tool.
Tips on Using Noodletools:
- When citing, select the type of article you are using, such as "Magazine," "Newspaper," or "Journal."
Learn More:
This streamlined process will help you find and use articles for your projects efficiently.
Find Articles in Magazines and Journals
open. search. refine. capture. cite.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and images.
Suggested Newspapers
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from the Bay Area, state, national, and international sources. Suitable for research reports on current events and issues. Can be used to find primary sources for the historical development of a topic.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowIncludes regional, national, and international newspapers.
- New York Times Free access to New York Times after you sign up through the link.
- Christian Science Monitor Open web magazine that provides up to 8 free articles a month.