Academic and Scholarly Journals
- Scholarly journals publish articles in a particular area of study.
- The articles are written by researchers sharing their original research with other scholars in their field.
- They are usually published by academic organizations or university presses.
- Most scholarly journals are peer-reviewed, which refers to the policy of having experts in the same field examine the articles prior to acceptance for publication. The formal peer review or refereed process ensures that research being reported is of the highest quality following standard research practices.
- Examples of scholarly peer-reviewed journals:
- The Journal of American History
- American Quarterly
- Journal of American Studies
- Pacific Historical Review
Suggested Search Terms
When searching the online databases, you will not be successful in finding relevant articles if you type in an entire sentence or question. Instead follow these simple steps:
- Identify the main words or phrases or concepts in your research question or thesis.
- Make a list of the keywords and any synonyms or related terms and phrases. Add to this list as new terms come up in your research and reading.
- Use AND to combine keywords.
- Labor laws
- Labor laws and children
- Labor laws and children and united states
- Use a truncation or wildcard symbol to find word variations
- child* = child, children, childhood, etc.
- wom?n = woman, women
Magazine and Journal Articles
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOver 10,000 magazines and scholarly journals covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
-
History Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOffers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, full text for more than 150 history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains articles from over a thousand scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full text articles are available from each journal starting from its first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes 16 of JSTOR’s multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowContains newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Includes categories for African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-Ethnic, and Native People.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowJournal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, includes gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc.
-
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowDefinitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
