Books in the LPC Library
The list of books on this page are just a sampling of what is available in the LPC Library.
Use the Library Catalog to search for other titles in the LPC and Chabot College collections.
Sample Search Terms:
- Immigration
- Mexico
- India
Encyclopedias - American Immigration
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by Call Number: JV6465 .E53 2010 V. 1 - 3Publication Date: 2010
American Immigrant Cultures by Call Number: E184.A1 A63448 1997 V.1 - 2ISBN: 0028972082Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Contemporary Ethnic Geographies in America by Call Number: E184 .A1 C5975 2007Publication Date: 2006
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Call Number: E184.A1 G14 1995 V.1 - 2Publication Date: 1995
The Official Guide to Racial and Ethnic Diversity by Call Number: E184.A1 R8 1996Publication Date: 1996
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Call Number: HT1521 .E63 2008 V. 1 - 3Publication Date: 2008
Library Reference Books (Encyclopedias)
Use reference books to locate information about countries, cultures, and general immigration of various ethnic groups in the United States.
Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
The lists on this page are select recommended encyclopedia titles. More titles are available in the reference section of the LPC Library.
See a librarian for assistance.
Encyclopedias - Ethnic Groups in America
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History by Call Number: E184 .M88 E876 2010 V. 1 - 2Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Call Number: E184 .S75 O97 2005 V. 1 - 4Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: F1406 .E53 2008 V. 1 - 6Publication Date: 2008
Voices of the U. S. Latino Experience by Call Number: E184 .S75 V65 2008 V. 1 - 3Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Call Number: E185 .E54 2006 V.1 - 6Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Call Number: E185 .E5453 2009 V. 1 - 5Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration by Call Number: E185.6 .E54 2006 V.1 - 3Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture by Call Number: Ref. E184 .S75 E588 2014ISBN: 9781440800986Publication Date: 2014
Asian American History and Culture by Call Number: E184 .A75 A8287 2010 V. 1 - 2Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today by Call Number: E184 .A75 E53 2010 V. 1 - 2Publication Date: 2009
Online Reference Books
Off-campus Access:
Log in with W# and Library Password.
Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of your W#
Example: jado6789
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including content related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos.
Encyclopedias - Countries and Cultures
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Call Number: GN333 .W67 2009 V. 1 - 5Publication Date: 2009
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 13th edition by Call Number: G63 .W67 2012 V.1 - 5Publication Date: 2012
Call Numbers
The LPC Library, like most academic libraries, uses the Library of Congress classification system (LC).
For example, books on the history of the United States have a call # starting with a E and within the E's books about ethnic groups have call numbers of E 184 or E185.
Ethnic groups in California: F 850s
Emigration and immigration: JV
Geography, countries, cultures: G, GN
Consult the online catalog to find exact call numbers on your topc.