Login Instructions
If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of W# (i.e. jado6789)
* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.
Search Tip
Search tips:
1) If one search term doesn't bring you the desired results, try synonyms or related terms.
For example: Hispanic Americans; Latinos; Chicanos
2) If you get too many results, narrow your focus by adding an additional term with the connector word "and".
For example: latinos and immigration
3) Use quotation marks around multi-word terms/phrases.
For example: "Hispanic Americans", "Japanese Americans", "African Americans"
Library Databases- Articles from Magazines, Newspapers, Journals
To find articles published in magazines and newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases. In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on the topic of ethnic and cultural groups, their history and culture, issues, and contributions:
*More databases are available on the LPC Library website. Ask a librarian for research assistance.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and images. - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
Learn to Distinguish Periodical Types
Library Databases-Country Information
CountryWatch - Country reports on each of the countries of the world. Reports include historical, political, economic, business, environmental, geographic, and demographic information. Also features an online newswire for current updates.