Find Sources
To find print books on the French language, select the "Advanced Search" option, in the "Find materials here" box. Under "Search For", change the "Online" search option to "Library Catalog", change "Any Field" to "Subject" and enter "French language", and click on "Search". Scroll down and on the left of the screen, you will see "Refine Results". The search results will include both print, electronic books and database articles. If you are only interested in print books, under "Source Types" on the left of the screen, select "Physical Items". Print books are clustered together by subject, are assigned Library of Congress call numbers and are shelved accordingly. When you find a title that interests you, note the call number and go to the appropriate shelf in either the Stacks (also known as the Circulating Collection), Reference Collection, or other location in the library where the item resides.
Here are some print books on the French language available from our Stacks which you may check out.
The Story of French by Call Number: PC2075 .N33 2006ISBN: 9780312341848Publication Date: 2008-01-08Why does everything sound better if it's said in French? That fascination is at the heart of The Story of French, the first history of one of the most beautiful languages in the world that was, at one time, the pre-eminent language of literature, science and diplomacy. In a captivating narrative that spans the ages, from Charlemagne to Cirque du Soleil, Jean-Benoît Nadeau and Julie Barlow unravel the mysteries of a language that has maintained its global influence despite the rise of English. As in any good story, The Story of French has spectacular failures, unexpected successes and bears traces of some of history's greatest figures: the tenacity of William the Conqueror, the staunchness of Cardinal Richelieu, and the endurance of the Lewis and Clark expedition. Through this colorful history, Nadeau and Barlow illustrate how French acquired its own peculiar culture, revealing how the culture of the language spread among francophones the world over and yet remains curiously centered in Paris. In fact, French is not only thriving--it still has a surprisingly strong influence on other languages. As lively as it is fascinating, The Story of French challenges long held assumptions about French and shows why it is still the world's other global language.
Vis-à-Vis - Beginning French by Call Number: PC2129 .E5 A48 2011ISBN: 9780073386447Publication Date: 2010-01-06Vis-à-Vis captures students' attention and engages them as they build a solid foundation of language and culture. The fifth edition of Vis-à-Vis achieves this through its unique blending of contemporary culture and digital tools with the building blocks of the four-skills approach.
Voila! : an Introduction to French by Call Number: PC2129 .E5 H43 2006ISBN: 9781413005219Publication Date: 2005-03-04VOILÀ! is a user-friendly textbook for introductory French which allows students to communicate meaningfully in French while encouraging them to interact with and respond to French and francophone cultures and literatures.
365 Days of French Expressions by Call Number: PC2641 .B53 2016ISBN: 9781503377509Publication Date: 2014-11-18Your daily dose of French expressions Add flair to your French conversations by learning one French expression every day for 365 days. Covering a wide range of figurative expressions and colloquial phrases, learn to understand the meanings as well as their literal translations. A perfect tool to enhance your study, no matter what level you are currently at.
Colloquial French Vocabulary: Learn How to Speak French Like a Native by Call Number: PC2121 .B53 2014ISBN: 9781503352506Publication Date: 2014-10-20Understand the « real » French If you simply stick to the formal vocabulary you are taught on your French course, you will have a hard time understanding native-speakers. This eBook will help you to progress in everyday French, the kind you can hear on the street, movies and radio.
501 French Verbs by Call Number: PC2271 .K46 2015ISBN: 9781438075204Publication Date: 2015-08-01The authors provide clear, easy-to-use review of the most important and commonly used verbs from the French language. Each verb is listed alphabetically in easy-to-follow chart form--one verb per page with its English translation.
HarperCollins French Dictionary by Call Number: Ref. PC2640 .C69 1993ISBN: 9780062755131Publication Date: 1993-07-01
Oxford Picture Dictionary Third Edition: English/French Dictionary by Call Number: BELL PC2640 .A34 2017ISBN: 9780194505338Publication Date: 2017-02-01Vibrant, realistic illustrations and unparalleled teaching support make the Oxford Picture Dictionary Program what every classroom needs to build students' vocabulary, reading, and critical thinking skills.
Exercises in French Phonics by Call Number: PC2137 .N33 1981ISBN: 0875632157Publication Date: 1981-01-01
French Gender Drill by Call Number: PC2211 .B53 2015ISBN: 9781519646675Publication Date: 2015-12-04Learn the gender of French Words without any memorization.Cover 90% of the most frequently used French words within a month (600 words including English translation).Important: Use the link available at the end of the book to access the MP3.
French for Dummies by Call Number: PC2129 .E5 S32 2000ISBN: 9780764551932Publication Date: 1999-12-15French for Dummies covers the following topics and more: Basic pronunciation and gestures The nuts and bolts of French grammar Meeting and greeting in French Situations in which you can use French: Making small talk, dining out, shopping, and talking on the phone Traveling to France: Dealing with French currency, staying at a hotel, and getting around town Top Ten lists on ways to pick up French quickly, things you should never say in French, favorite French expressions, and important French holidays to remember.
Practice Makes Perfect: Complete French All-In-One, Premium Second Edition by Call Number: PC2129.E5 C6665 2018ISBN: 9781260121032Publication Date: 2018-08-01The most comprehensive way to learn French - with seven bestselling books in one! Drawn from seven workbooks from the bestselling Practice Makes Perfect series, this powerhouse volume features all the knowledge and practice you need to master French.
Practice Makes Perfect - Basic French, Premium by Call Number: PC2129 .K87 2017ISBN: 9781259836398Publication Date: 2017-02-17Gain the language skills you want Practice Makes Perfect: Basic French is the proven companion to your French-learning experience. In each bite-sized lesson, author Eliane Kurbegov explains one--and only one--grammar concept and illustrates it with clear examples. These lessons are purposefully short, so you can complete them in twenty minutes or less, and go at a pace that works for you. You will, or course, get plenty of practice, practice, practice using your new skills. And this new edition is accompanied by flashcards and audio recordings, available online and via app, that will provide a new dimension and flexibility to your study. Whether you are learning on your own or taking a beginning class, this book will build your confidence in French.
Practice Makes Perfect French Verb Tenses by Call Number: PC2271 .B65 2019ISBN: 9781260121711Publication Date: 2018-10-04Master verbs with the most comprehensive workbook for learners of French Practice Makes Perfect: French Verb Tenses is the go-to-guide for clear, thorough explanations that pinpoint why a certain tense works in a given situation. This book will also give you plenty of practice in using your new language skills. With numerous skill-building exercises, comprehensive verb conjugation tables, and the proven Practice Makes Perfect format, you will learn to master French in no time at all. And this new edition is accompanied by flashcards and recordings, available via app, that will provide a new dimension and flexible to your study. THE BOOK IS DIVIDED INTO FOUR MAIN PARTS: Part I works with the present tense, including the conjugation of regular and irregular verbs, asking questions, impersonal verbs, and the use of reflexive verbs. Idiomatic uses of avoir, faire, être, aller, vouloir, and prendre are also covered in detail. Part II focuses on past tenses, from the composition of the passé composé to its contrasting use with the imperfect tense. The formation and uses of the pluperfect and passé simple are also thoroughly reviewed. Part III covers the future tenses (simple future, le future proche, and future perfect) and the conditional. The formation and uses of present and past subjunctive are explained, as well as the use of subjunctive in the main clause. Part IV addresses the infinitive and negative infinitive, the imperative and negative imperative, the present participle and the gerund, and the formation and uses of the passive voice.
Practice Makes Perfect French Vocabulary by Call Number: PC2445 .K86 2012ISBN: 9780071762427Publication Date: 2011-09-07Master the words and phrases necessary for handling everyday situations Practice Makes Perfect: French Vocabulary helps you develop your vocabulary by providing practice in word-building and encouraging you to analyze new words for an ever-increasing vocabulary. Each chapter of this comprehensive book focuses on a theme, such as family or travel, so you can build your language skills in a systematic manner. As you lay the foundation for an increasing vocabulary, you are able to perfect your new words with plenty of exercises and gain the confidence to communicate well in French. Practice Makes Perfect: French Vocabulary offers you: More than 120 exercises Concise grammatical explanations A new chapter on contemporary vocabulary An answer key to gauge your comprehension With help from this book, you can easily speak or write in French about: Different occupations and jobs * French holidays and traditions * Taking the train * Growing your own garden * Where it hurts on your body * Your house * Your family and friends * What you studied in school * Your favorite TV show * Your family's background . . . and much more!
Practice Makes Perfect Complete French Grammar by Call Number: PC2112 .H46 2016ISBN: 9781259642371Publication Date: 2016-07-07Master grammar with the bestselling workbook for learners of French Practice Makes Perfect: Complete French Grammar is the go-to guide for clear, precise explanations of all aspects of French grammar: from the present tense of regular verbs to direct object pronouns, from the differences between savoir and connaître to the use of pronouns y and en. This comprehensive guide will also give you plenty of practice in using your language skills. And this new edition is accompanied by flashcards and audio recordings, available online and via app, that will provide a new dimension and flexibility to your study.
Schaum's Outline of French Grammar, Seventh Edition by Call Number: PC2112 .C56 2018ISBN: 9781260120950Publication Date: 2018-10-22Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, sovled problems, and practice exercises to test your skills.
French Grammar for Dummies by Call Number: PC2112 .M377 2013ISBN: 9781118502518Publication Date: 2013-04-22The easy way to master French grammar French Grammar For Dummies is a logical extension and complement to the successful language learning book, French For Dummies.
French Slang: Do You Speak the Real French? by Call Number: PC3731 .B53 2015ISBN: 9781508599654Publication Date: 2015-02-16All the essential French Slang you need to speak like a native. Let's face it, real-world French doesn't sound like it just came out of a stuffy formal textbook. This book will help you sound like an actual human being from the 21st century. Now you can learn and understand everyday French conversations - the kind you can hear spoken by native speakers on the street, in movies and TV, and, more importantly, in real life!
Short Stories in French by Call Number: PQ1278 .S535 1999ISBN: 0140265430Publication Date: 2001-01-01This is an all new version of the popular PARALLEL TEXT series, containing eight pieces of contemporary fiction in the original French and in English translation. Including stories by Bolanger, Cotnoir, Le Clezio and Germain, this volume gives afascinating insight into French culture and literature as well as providing an invaluable educational tool.
Short Stories in French for Beginners by Call Number: PC2115 .R53 2018ISBN: 9781473683433Publication Date: 2018-11-13An unmissable collection of eight unconventional and captivating short stories for young and adult learners. Short Stories in French for Beginners has been written especially for students from beginner to intermediate level, designed to give a sense of achievement, and most importantly - enjoyment! These eight captivating stories will both entertain you, and give you a feeling of progress when reading. What does this book give you? · Eight stories in a variety of exciting genres, from science fiction and crime to history and thriller - making reading fun, while you learn a wide range of new vocabulary. Carefully curated to make learning a new language easy, these stories include key features that will support and consolidate your progress, including · A glossary for bolded words in each text · A bilingual word list · Full plot summary · Comprehension questions after each chapter. From science fiction to fantasy, to crime and thrillers, Short Stories in French for Beginners will make learning French easy and enjoyable.
French: Short Stories for Beginners + Audio Download by Call Number: PC2115 .B53 2016ISBN: 9781546566007Publication Date: 2017-05-08Improve your French reading, pronunciation and listening skills. Make learning new vocabulary so much easier with 15 fun and engaging French stories. Download the French audio for FREE! (link available in the book)!
French: Short Stories for Intermediate Level + AUDIO by Call Number: PC2115 .B54 2016ISBN: 9781540498854Publication Date: 2016-11-18Improve your reading and listening comprehension and make learning new vocabulary so much easier with 7 French short stories.
To find electronic books or e-books on the French language, select the "Advanced Search" option, in the "Find materials here" box. Under "Search For", change the "Online" search option to "Library Catalog", change "Any Field" to "Subject" and enter "French language", and click on "Search". Scroll down and on the left of the screen, you will see "Refine Results". The search results will include both print, electronic books and database articles. If you are only interested in e-books, under "Availability" on the left of the screen, select "Digital Items". To access an eBook, click on "Available Online". Most e-books available through Las Positas College's Library come from EBSCOhost. At the pop-up screen, select "EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America)". There are also e-books from Overdrive which you may access by selecting "Overdrive" at the pop-up screen. If you are off-campus, you will be asked for your W number and your 6-digit Personal Identification Number (PIN) before gaining access to the e-book. e-Books may be read online by clicking on the PDF or EPUB button. For EBSCOHost titles, you may download e-books for a period of two days by selecting "Full Download". For Overdrive titles, you may download e-books for 7, 14 or 21 days. You must create your personal EBSCOhost or Overdrive account in order to download the e-book. You will also need to install appropriate software such as the Overdrive app, or Adobe Digital Editions on your PC, Mac, laptop, tablet or phone in order to accommodate downloading of eBooks. Ask a librarian for assistance with this.
Here are some eBooks on the French language and literature available from our online catalog.
Collins French Dictionary & Grammar by ISBN: 9780008183660Publication Date: 2014The home of trusted French dictionaries for everyday language learning. An up-to-date French to English and English to French dictionary with a practical, user-friendly grammar guide in one handy volume.
French in Action. Part 1. by ISBN: 9780300204049Publication Date: 2012-01-01Since it was first published, French in Action: A Beginning Course in Language and Culture—The Capretz Method has been widely recognized in the field as a model for video-based foreign-language instructional materials. The third edition has been revised by Pierre Capretz and Barry Lydgate and includes new, contemporary illustrations throughout and more-relevant information for today's students in the Documents sections of each lesson. A completely new feature is a journal by the popular character Marie-Laure, who observes and humorously comments on the political, cultural, and technological changes in the world between 1985 and today. The new edition also incorporates more content about the entire Francophone world. In use by hundreds of colleges, universities, and high schools, French in Action remains a powerful educational resource, and the third edition updates the course for a new generation of learners.
French in Action. Part 2. by ISBN: 9780300210682Publication Date: 2015-06-28French in Action is a model for video based language instruction, and the new edition updates the text and workbook for today's students.
A History of the French Language by ISBN: 9781138835016Publication Date: 2015-07-17This well-established and popular book provides students with all the linguistic background they need for studying any period of French literature. For the second edition the text has been revised and updated throughout, and the two final chapters on contemporary French, and its position as a world language, have been completely rewritten. Starting with a brief description of the Vulgar Latin spoken in Gaul, and the earliest recorded forms of French, Peter Rickard traces the development of the language through the later Middle Ages and Renaissance to show how it became standardized in a near modern form in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
A Student Grammar of French by ISBN: 9780521838894Publication Date: 2006-06-23A Student Grammar of French is a concise introduction to French grammar, designed specifically for English-speaking undergraduates. Keeping technical detail to a minimum, it explains the fundamentals of the grammar in accessible and simple terms, and helps students to put their learning into practice through a range of fun and engaging exercises. All the essential topics are covered, with chapters on verbs, nouns, adjectives, pronouns, determiners, prepositions, adverbs, negation, numerals, sentences, and clauses. Every grammatical point is illustrated with a range of authentic examples drawn from magazines and newspapers, covering many areas of contemporary life such as fashion, health issues, relationships and sport. It is clearly organized into a user-friendly, numbered indexing system, allowing the learner to quickly and easily locate any grammatical topic.
A Reference Grammar of French by ISBN: 1139116967Publication Date: 2011-07-14A Reference Grammar of French is a lively, wide-ranging and original handbook on the structure of the French language. It includes new information on register, pronunciation, gender, number, foreign words (Latin, Arabic, English, Spanish, Italian), adjectives and past participles used as nouns, texting, word order, frequency of occurrence of words, and usage with all geographical names.
Modern French Grammar by ISBN: 9780203397251Publication Date: 2004-08-02This new edition of the Modern French Grammar is an innovative reference guide to French, combining traditional and function-based grammar in a single volume. Divided into two parts, Part A covers traditional grammatical categories such as word order, nouns, verbs and adjectives and Part B is organized around language functions and notions such as: giving and seeking information describing processes and results expressing likes, dislikes and preferences. With a strong emphasis on contemporary usage, all grammar points and functions are richly illustrated with examples. Implementing feedback from users of the first edition of the Grammar, this second edition includes clearer explanations and greater emphasis on areas of particular difficulty for learners of French. This is the ideal reference grammar for learners of French at all levels, from beginner to advanced.
The Syntax of French by ISBN: 0521542995Publication Date: 2007-03-08French is a syntactically interesting language, with aspects of its word order and clause structure triggering a variety of important developments in syntactic theory. This is a concise and accessible guide to the syntax of Modern French, providing a clear overview of those aspects of the language that are of particular interest to linguists. A broad variety of topics are covered, including the development and spread of French; the evolution of its syntax; syntactic variation; lexical categories; noun, verb and adjective phrases; clause structure; movement; and agreement.
A Short Course in Reading French by ISBN: 9780231527453Publication Date: 2012-12-04This textbook teaches the basics of French grammar, reinforcing its lessons with exercises and key practice translations. A systematic guide, the volume is a critical companion for university-level students learning to read and translate written French into English; for graduate scholars learning to do research in French or prepping for proficiency exams; and for any interested readers who want to improve their facility with the French language. In addition, A Short Course in Reading French exposes readers to a broad range of French texts from the humanities and social sciences, including writings by distinguished francophone authors from around the world. The book begins with French pronunciation and cognates and moves through nouns, articles, and prepositions; verbs, adjectives, and adverbs; a graduated presentation of all the indicative and subjunctive tenses; object, relative, and other pronouns; the passive voice; common idiomatic constructions; and other fundamental building blocks of the French language. Chapters contain translation passages from such authors as Pascal, Montesquieu, Proust, Sartre, Bourdieu, Senghor, Césaire, de Certeau, de Beauvoir, Barthes, and Kristeva.
Developing Writing Skills in French by ISBN: 1134274238Publication Date: 2005-05-24Designed for intermediate to advanced students, this text equips readers with the necessary skills to write confidently in French in a range of situations.
The Cambridge Introduction to Francophone Literature by ISBN: 9780521849715Publication Date: 2007-10-25The literature of French-speaking countries forms a distinct body of work quite separate from literature written in France itself, offering a passionate creative engagement with their postcolonial cultures. This book provides an introduction to the literatures that have emerged in the French-speaking countries and regions of the world in recent decades, illustrating their astonishing breadth and diversity, and exploring their constant state of tension with the literature of France.
- À bout de souffleA small-time criminal kills a police officer, setting in motion a tragic series of events for both himself and his American girlfriend.
Tells the story of Michel, a handsome young criminal, who is on the run after stealing a car and killing a policeman. He hides out in the Paris apartment of his American girlfriend and together they dodge the police, make love and steal cars to finance a trip to Italy. As the police net tightens, Michel becomes more desperate and his girlfriend commits the ultimate act of betrayal. - AmélieAmélie is a young woman who had a decidedly unusual childhood; misdiagnosed with an unusual heart condition, Amélie didn't attend school with other children, but spent most of her time in her room, where she developed a keen imagination and an active fantasy life. Despite all this, Amélie has grown into a healthy and beautiful young woman who works in a Paris cafe and has a whimsical, romantic nature. She decides to step into the lives of others around her to help them out.
- Au revoir les enfantsIn 1943, Julien is a student at a French boarding school. When three new students arrive, including Jean Bonnett, Julien believes they are no different from the other boys. What Julien doesn't know is that the boys are actually Jews who are evading capture by the Nazis. While Julien doesn't care for Jean at first, the boys develop a tight bond -- while the head of the school, Père Jean, works to protect the boys from the Holocaust.
- Baisers volésAfter his dishonorable discharge from the army, Antoine embarks on a series of ill-fated jobs, finally settling on an amusing stint as a private detective. In his ever-turbulent love life, he finds himself torn between an attractive, serious-minded young violinist and a glamorous, older married woman.
- The Battle of AlgiersDramatizes the harrowing events of 1957, a key year in Algeria's struggle for independence from France. Recreates the tumultuous Algerian uprising against the occupying French in the 1950s. As violence escalates on both sides, the French torture prisoners for information and the Algerians resort to terrorism in their quest for independence. Children shoot soldiers at point-blank range, women plant bombs in cafes. The French win the battle, but ultimately lose the war as the Algerian people demonstrate that they will no longer be suppressed.
- Belleville rendez-vousA bicyclist is kidnapped from the Tour de France by mysterious gangsters; his grandmother travels to the city of Belleville (which has a sardonic version of the Statue of Liberty in its harbor), where she tracks him down with the help of a musical trio gone to seed, the Belleville Triplets.
- Coco avant ChanelYears after being abandoned at an orphanage by her father, Gabrielle Chanel finds a job in a tailor shop where she meets, and soon begins an affair with French millionaire Etienne Balsan. Through Baron Balsan she is introduced into French society and given the opportunity to design her own style of hats. Though her career takes off, her personal life becomes more complicated when she falls in love with Balsan's former best friend Arthur Capel.
- Cyrano de BergeracCyrano, a master swordsman and poet, feels he cannot woo his beloved Roxane due to an unfortunate physical flaw: his grotesquely large nose. Resigning himself to helping another suitor, the dashing yet tongue-tied Christian, Cyrano uses his mastery of words to win Roxane for him. But when Roxane finds that she has fallen for Christian's mind - and not for his beauty - which of her two suitors will finally possess her heart?
- DivaJules, a young mail courier, is an impassioned fan of Cynthia Hawkins, a legendary, and determinedly unrecorded opera star. He smuggles a tape recorder into a performance and tapes her singing. At the same time, a prostitute hides a tape recording that details the career of a French mobster in Jules' delivery bag. Dizzying chases and bizaare plot twists follow, as Jules is pursued through Paris, aided by his two eccentric friends, Gorodish and his Vietnamese mistress, Alba.
- Elle s'appelait SarahIn modern-day Paris, a journalist finds her life becoming entwined with a young girl whose family was torn apart during the notorious Vel d'Hiv round up, which took place in Paris in 1942. She stumbles upon a family secret which will link her forever to the destiny of a young Jewish girl, Sarah.
- Jules et JimTwo friends fall in love with the same woman, who has great difficulty choosing between them. Over the ensuing decades the 3 remain close friends, despite the sexual tension inherent in their situation.
- La belle noiseuseAn artist near the end of his career finds new inspiration in a young model. A famous and well-respected artist who lives in a comfortable estate in the French countryside, at the age of 60, considers his career as a painter to be over. He no longer feels inspired to create, and his last attempt at a major work, a nude study of his wife Liza, has sat unfinished for ten years. His protégé suggests a more inspiring subject, who exchanges ideas and opinions, as he methodically attempts to create a final masterpiece.
- La chambre bleueTwo adulterous lovers go from pillow talk to possible murder in this sexy, brain-teasing thriller. Julien is a middle-age salesman embroiled in a steamy love affair with a married woman who, after a round of kinky sex, makes a startling suggestion. Suddenly Julien is caught up in a police investigation, but just what exactly happened?
- Le dernier metroIn Nazi-occupied Paris, a Jewish director is forced to hide in the basement of his theatre while his wife stars in its latest production.
- Le dîner de consPierre and his snobbish friends have a standing date for dinner. Every week, they compete to see who can bring the biggest idiot to the party.
- Les choristesUnemployed music teacher Clement Mathieu becomes the supervisor at a boarding school for the rehabilitation of minors. Dismayed by the repressive administration, he works to positively transform the students' lives through music.
- Les DiaboliquesSuspense classic that tells the story of a sadistic headmaster of a Parisian boarding school who is murdered by his wife and mistress, whom he has mistreated. The women dump his body in a swimming pool. When the pool is drained, the body has disappeared. Then come reports of sightings, terrifying his killers.
- Les intouchablesAn irreverent, uplifting comedy about friendship, trust, and human possibility. Based on a true story of friendship between a handicapped millionaire and his street-smart ex-con caretaker, The Intouchables depicts an unlikely camaraderie rooted in honesty and humor between two individuals who, on the surface, would seem to have nothing in common.
- IncendiesPublication Date: 2011After the death of their mother, a set of twins make a life-altering discovery. The pair travels to the Middle East on a mission to uncover the truth about the father they thought was dead, and the brother they never knew existed. Along the way they will piece together the story of the woman who brought them into the world, discovering a tragic fate as well as the courage of an exceptional woman.
- Lacombe, LucienLucien Lacombe is a young man living in rural France during World War II who seeks to join the French Resistance. When he is rejected due to his youth, the resentful Lucien allies himself with the Nazis and joins the Gallic arm of their Gestapo. Lucien grows to enjoy the power that comes with his position, but his life is complicated when he falls for France Horn, a beautiful young Jewish woman.
- Un long dimanche de fiançaillesIn 1920, country girl Mathilde is living in Brittany with her aunt and uncle when she learns that her fiancé Manech was one of five French soldiers condemned to a barbarous death by their own side. Court-martialed for intentionally wounding themselves, their punishment is to be thrown into no man's land, unarmed and with their hands tied behind their backs. But Manech may have survived. Hiring a dogged old bird of a private detective and a lawyer to aid her, Mathilde is off on an adventure. She pursues her sleuthing through a flurry of letters, documents, and private interviews--hunting down the soldiers who were in the trenches with Manech--along with their lovers and relatives. She also discovers that she has a sort of doppelgänger: a Corsican prostitute pursuing a parallel investigation for another of the five, and murdering anyone who did her own beloved mate wrong. Mathilde will have to hurry to follow the clues piecing the story together before they are lost forever.
- Ma vie en roseLudovic is waiting for a miracle. With seven-year-old certainty, he believes he was meant to be a little girl and that the mistake will soon be corrected. But where he expects the miraculous, Ludo finds only rejection, isolation and guilt--as the intense reactions of family, friends, and neighbors strip away every innocent lace and bauble.
- Madame BovaryEmma Bovary is a woman possessed by a burning hunger for life and love--and a passion that can never be fulfilled. Feeling trapped in a loveless marriage, Emma indulges herself in a lifestyle of reckless overspending and a series of shocking affairs which threaten to destroy her and everyone around her.
- Marius et JeannetteIn a small port outside of Marseilles, an animated circle of friends and neighbors join to share in the funny, colorful and off-beat love story of Marius and Jeannette. The vivacious, loud-mouthed Jeannette first meets Marius when he catches her trying to steal paint from the grounds of the cement factory he was hired to guard. Although it's a precarious beginning, the two quickly turn their initial attraction into a budding romance. However, just as their relationship begins to flourish, the warm-hearted Marius retreats with no explanation. Troubled with Marius' mysterious withdrawal, Jeannette's spirited neighbors decide to intervene with hopes of helping the two unlikely lovers save their romance
- Monsieur Ibrahim et les fleurs du CoranAn elderly Turkish Muslim grocer befriends a lonely teenage Jewish boy in a working class section of Paris.
- Le petit NicolasThe film is narrated from the perspective of young Nicolas who is content with his life, is loved by his family and has fun with his school friends. One day, his classmate Joachim discovers his mother is pregnant and he is soon to have a little brother. Joachim laments about the extra responsibilities and the possible neglect as the baby will receive all the attention. That night, Nicolas overhears his parents talking and suspects his Mum is having a baby, and they will abandon him in the woods like Tom Thumb. Nicolas enlists the help of his friends to get rid of the baby by hiring a gangster to kidnap it, resulting in hilarious misadventures and laughs along the way.
- PonettePonette is a sad little girl. She has survived a car crash that killed her mother and left her with a broken arm. Her father takes to live with an aunt, who has two children roughly her age, explaining to his tearful, disbelieving daughter that her mother is not coming back. Not understanding the finality of death in an adult way, Ponette wonders why if Jesus gets to rise from the dead, why can't her mother? Thrown into a new environment, however, Ponette begins to heal and grow up in spite of herself. While grappling with confusing religious issues, and trying to understand the meaning of life and death, the film delves into the magical world of a four-year old, where stuffed animals have extraordinary powers, dolls are more than inanimate objects, and God is someone you can talk to and expect an answer from.
- La promesseThe life of a fifteen-year old, raised by his father as a petty criminal, changes forever when he makes a promise to a dying man that comes into conflict with his loyalty to his father.
- Un prophèteSentenced to six years in prison, 19-year-old Malik has his sneakers stolen right off his feet during his first venture into the exercise yard. Caught between the Corsican and Arab-Muslim factions, Malik, a bilingual, French-born Arab and non-observant Muslim, winds up being seen by the Corsicans as an Arab and by the Arabs as a Corsican. To survive, Malik works as an errand boy for the sinister Corsican crime boss who dominates the prison, César Luciani. Malik's intelligence comes to his aid--before long, he can speak to (or eavesdrop on) everyone in the prison. He does what he must to survive, including studying his boss carefully, warily making and then implementing his own plans. When Malik emerges from prison he is a man of the new Europe--albeit a criminal--a polite, industrious, and thoroughly self-made man.
- Les quatre cents coupsThirteen-year-old Antoine Doinet lives in a cramped apartment with his mother and stepfather, neglected by them and unlucky at school. Living an intensely imaginative life of his own he gets into trouble and is finally committed to reform school from which he escapes and runs towards the sea, which he has never seen.
- RidiculeIn a desperate quest to save the people on his estate by draining the mosquito infested wetlands, a young man quickly learns that a sharp wit is the key to open any door in the Versailles court of Louis XVI.
- Le scaphandre et le papillonThe story of Jean-Dominique Bauby, French editor of Elle magazine, who suffered a stroke at the age of 43, paralyzing his entire body except his left eye. Using that eye to blink out his memoir, Bauby described the aspects of his interior world, from the psychological torment of being trapped inside his body to his imagined stories from lands he'd only visited in his mind.
- SéraphineThe true story of Séraphine Louis, a simple, devout housekeeper who in 1905, at the age of 41, began painting brilliantly colorful canvases. In 1912, a German art critic discovered her paintings while she was working as his maid. Tells the story of the relationship between the avant-garde dealer and the visionary cleaning lady, forging a testament to the mysteries of creativity and the resilience of one woman's spirit.
- Le souffle au cœur / Murmur of the heartLouis Malle's critically acclaimed Murmur of the Heart gracefully combines elements of comedy, drama, and autobiography in a candid portrait of one boy's journey from childhood to adulthood. Malle's depiction of a precocious fifteen-year old boy's sexual maturation and unorthodox relationship with his free-spirited mother is both shocking and deeply poignant, amounting to one of the finest coming-of-age films ever committed to film.
- La veuve de Saint-PierreBased on a true story about revenge, fear and redemption. In 19th century St. Pierre, a convict sentenced to death strives to better himself in the eyes of the police chief's beautiful wife and that of the town that she has him working in. Since there is no guillotine or executioner, one of each has to be sent for from France.
- La vie en roseA dramatic retelling of the life of Edith Piaf, considered one of the great performers of France. Raised in a brothel, taken to work in a circus by her father, and eventually abandoned by her parents, she spent her teen years on the streets. Eventually "rescued" by a crime figure who gives her career a start, she makes her way to international success, despite recurring frailty, illness, wild moods, drug and alcohol problems.
SOURCES FOR STREAMING VIDEOS
Academic Video Online - A comprehensive video collection of 67,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Includes a variety of content-types such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.
Credo Reference - Nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more.
Films on Demand - Films and documentaries on a variety of topics in the fields of humanities, sociology, administration of justice, psychology, health, etc.
Kanopy Streaming Video –Educational videos covering a variety of topics.
Swank Digital Movies - Streaming access to feature films and mainstream documentaries; select titles have been added to support LPC curriculum.
World Cinema Video Collection - This unique collection includes the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, American and European masterpieces from the mid-20th century, award-winning contemporary films from Global Lens, and films from Africa and the African diaspora from ArtMattan Productions. The collection shines a light on the history of cinema while also providing a glimpse into the cultures and issues of countries around the world—making it useful beyond film studies departments by bringing value to programs in area studies, political science, history, world languages, and more.This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos on learning French
- The French ExperienceDiscover the delights of 'The French Experience', with this television series accompanying the best-selling BBC French course which gives the real flavour of France. Filmed in Paris, Normandy, Strasbourg, the Pyrenees and Toulouse, the programmes offer a rich and varied mix of basic language teaching with travel and cultural information, including insights into lesser-known aspects of the country and its life. Ideal for beginners or those wanting to brush up their rusty French.
- A Short Story of France's Epic LanguageFrom medieval Gaul to the Age of the Internet, the French language has kept in step with history, changing and growing with the times yet never losing its unique character. This program stops at various points along the timeline to spotlight important chapters in the story of the evolution of a vibrant linguistic mélange in locales as diverse as Europe, North America, and Africa
- Talk French"Parlez-vous français?" Filmed in the south of France, this lively six-part series covers all of the practical essentials of contemporary conversational French while spotlighting cultural aspects of the country. Each program uses a diverse group of speakers talking in a wide range of real-world contexts to encourage beginners to speak up—and to have fun doing it.
- That Surprising French LanguageThis engaging five-part series studies a language often called the most cultured and colorful in the world. Topics include reading and writing, speaking and spelling, a bit of French history, and a journey around the globe to see and appreciate the universality and vitality of the language.