Login Instructions
If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of W# (i.e. jado6789)
* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.
Magazines & Newspapers in Library Databases
To find articles published in magazines and newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases. In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on the topic of African Americans, their history and culture, issues, and contributions:
Academic Search Complete - Provides full-text coverage of all academic subjects in magazines and journals, including peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch - Contains newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Includes categories for African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-Ethnic, and Native People.
America: History and Life - Definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Military & Government Collection - Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Newspaper Source Plus - Includes more than 700 full-text regional, national, and international newspapers.
See below for suggested search terms. Ask a librarian if you need further help developing your search terms.
Suggested Search Terms
Sample Terms:
- Tuskegee Airmen
- Alexander Jefferson
- Benjamin O. Davis, Jr.
- African American Air Pilots
- United States. Army Air Forces. Fighter Group, 332nd.
- World War, 1939-1945 -- African Americans
- African Americans
- African Americans - Civil Rights
- African Americans - History
Search Tip
Search tips:
1) If one search term doesn't bring you the desired results, try synomyms or related terms.
For example: Discrimination; Racism; Prejudice
2) If you get too many results, narrow your focus by adding an additional term with the connector word "and".
For example: African Americans and Military
3) Use quotation marks around multi-word terms/phrases.
For example: "Tuskegee Airmen": "African Americans"; "World War II"
