Tuskegee Airmen and Lt. Col. Alexander Jefferson: Encyclopedias

African American History Online - This database includes subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, timelines, maps and charts, etc. from over 110 books and encyclopedias.

Off-campus Access:

Log in with W# and Library Password.

Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of your W#

Example: jado6789

These subject encyclopedias contain information about the Tuskegee Airmen and African Americans in the military.

Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries. The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc. Many also contain bibliographies for further research.

Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.

There are many specialized or subject encyclopedias on African Americans.  This is a list of a few recommeded ones:

  African American Almanac

   Ref. E185 .N385 2008

  African American Frontiers [also in stacks]

   Ref E444 .G68 2000

   Africana: The Encyclopedia of African and African American Experience

   Ref DT14 .A37435 2005

   African-American Atlas: Black History & Culture - An Illustrated Reference

    E185. A79 1998

   Almanac of African American Heritage

   Ref E185. A448 2001

   Civil rights in America: 1500 to the Present

   Ref JC599. U5 S53 1998

Use the LPC Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.