What Is a Periodical Database?
A periodical database is a collection of magazine, journal, and newspaper articles on various subjects searchable in electronic format.
Examples:
Magazines: TIME, Psychology Today
Journals: Journal of American History, Nature
Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle, Washington Post
Need Help Finding Articles?
Watch this short video on searching for articles in the Library's databases.
Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
Examples of Databases Covering Women's Issues
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and images. - MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new windowCovers all subject areas and is a good choice for ESL students looking for information written at a basic level. Contains full text for magazines, reference books, biographies, primary sources, and a collection of images, photos, maps.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- Primary Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes popular magazines on all subjects written at a basic level appropriate for ESL students. All articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Sample Searches
Sample search #1:
"women's rights" AND afghanistan
Sample search #2:
immigration asylum "united states"
Sample search #3:
"human trafficking" OR "sex trafficking"
Sample search #4:
education girls inequity
Search search #5:
gender roles
Search search #6:
immigration generations
