Encyclopedias
Why start your research with an encyclopedia?
Encyclopedias are useful for
- Getting ideas. Browse a detailed table of contents or topic outline.
- Getting an overview or summary about a subject.
- Identifying keywords you can use to search the online catalog, databases, and the web. Keep track of the keywords you come across as you read.
Online Reference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries in subjects from Art to Technology. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
Read the topic overviews for background information on topics such as:
- human trafficking
- sweatshops
- women in politics
- women's rights
- cosmetic surgery
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from more than 1,620 reference books.
Under Source Types, select Reference Books.
Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
Recommended Print Encyclopedias
Following is a list of recommended encyclopedias covering various aspects of women's history. Some books listed below are e-reference books, as indicated by "e-book" next to the call number. We have several databases containing e-reference encyclopedias.
Women in American Politics: History and MilestonesCall Number: Ref. HQ1236.5 .U6 W43 2012
Celebrating Women in American HistoryCall Number: Ref. HQ1410 .C45 2010v. 1. Colonization, revolution, and the New Republic beginnings to 1860 --
v. 2. Industrialization, political activism, and the Temperance Movement, 1861 to 1899 --
v. 3. Emerging roles in the Progressive Era and Great Depression, 1900 to 1937 --
v. 4. Expanding social roles and postwar activism, 1938 to 1960 --
v. 5. Modern Feminist Movement and contemporary issues, 1961-Present
