Start Finding Sources with OneSearch
OneSearch is a broad search across many different subjects, databases, and resources. If you are not finding what you are looking for here, use the box below to hone in on subject-specific resources.
Advanced SearchPowered by 
Not sure which type of source above to start with or what to do to search?! Check out the tabs below to search for tips on searching or specific types of information. For more help on how to search, visit the Search Effectively page.
Find Subject Specific Sources
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need very in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
These articles are basically the "bread-and-butter" sources for scholarly research - they're used in every discipline.
Why You Should Use Them:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) insures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Find Articles:
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Suitable for research in botany, microbiology, zoology, and environmental studies. Includes 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and other publications such as conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports. - ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowContains Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 550 journals and magazines in nursing, medicine, and allied health disciplines. - Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- PLOS BiologyPLOS (Public Library of Science) is an open access website that publishes significant advances across the biological sciences.
Depending on the assignment you are working on, videos and documentaries can be valuable resources to provide a visual overview of a topic. Streaming video collections are available through the library.
Where to Find Videos and Documentaries:
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Academic Video OnlineMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Watch movies, foreign films, shorts, and documentaries on a wide of subjects, etc.
