Photography: Web Resources

Google Advanced Search - Information on educational and governmental websites tend to have more reliable information.  In the advance search, along with your search terms, enter .edu or .gov in the box labeled "Search within a site or domain:".

The quality of the information you find on the Web varies tremendously so it is always a good idea to check the information against another source. As with all information resources, whether in print or on the Internet, you evaluate its quality based on the following criteria:

• Accuracy (Is it free from mistakes and errors?)
• Authority (What are the qualifications of the author?)
• Objectivity (Is there any strong bias?)
• Currency (Is the information up to date?)
• Coverage (To what extent is the topic explored?)

That's just the basics.  Learn more!

Tutorials on Evaluation Criteria

SELECTED PHOTOGRAPHY WEBSITES

• Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs  The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
• The New York Public Library: Digital Collections

• American Museum of Photography  The Research Center of this "museum without walls" offers links to photo history sites. Learn about early photographic processes, photo preservation, and exhibits about the early days of photography, 1839 through WWI.

• Art Institute of Chicago Digital Archive - Photography Collection   Explore thousands of photographs in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—including books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
• Eastman Museum: Collections Online   Explore the George Eastman Museum's collections online. More than a quarter of a million objects from the photography, technology, and George Eastman Legacy collections are now searchable, and more of the museum's vast holdings will be added on an ongoing basis.
• The Huntington Digital Library | Photograph Collections   Photographs in the digital collection are a selection of highlights from The Huntington's extensive photographic holdings, with a focus on California and the American West.
• Google Images   Search millions of images on the Web! The Advanced Image Search option allows for searching by size, color, filetypes, domains, and usage rights.
• Library of Congress: Flickr Photostream
• Wikimedia Commons
• The Commons (Flickr)
• Behance (Photography)
• Freestock
• Freerange
• Stockvault
• Freeimages
• Public Domain Pictures
• Free Digital Photos
• Textures.com
• PicJumbo
• PikWizard
• Pixabay
• Pexels
• SplitShire
• StockSnap
• Shot Stash