MLA Style
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is one of several different format dictating citation styling/formatting and is most commonly used to for writing within liberal arts and humanities. The primary resource for how to format according to the MLA style is the MLA Handbook, 8th Edition, shown below.
Do I Need to Cite Images?
Any words, ideas or images that you do not create yourself must be properly credited to avoid plagiarism.
Citing information sources acknowledges the origin of your information and it provides support and credibility to your work by showing evidence of your research.
A citation is a reference to the source of an idea, information or image. It typically includes enough identifying information, such as the author, title, date, publication format, etc.
Books for MLA style
MLA Handbook by Call Number: Call Number: Ref. LB2369.G53 2016ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Off Campus Access to Databases
To login to LPC Library databases from off-campus, enter your:
W# (Include the letter W.)
and
6-Digit Password
(The library password is the SAME as your ClassWeb PIN; if you change your ClassWeb PIN it will automatically update your library password.)
MLA Style
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is one of several different format dictating citation styling/formatting and is most commonly used to for writing within liberal arts and humanities. The primary resource for how to format according to the MLA style is the MLA Handbook, 8th Edition, shown to the left.
NoodleBib
Use Noodletools, an online citation generating service, to create your citations.
Noodletools will walk you through the process of creating your citations in MLA format.
If you need help using Noodletools, please contact a LPC librarian.
- The MLA Style CenterProvides examples of papers, formatting tips, and information on plagiarism and academic dishonesty. From their site, "The MLA Style Center, published by the Modern Language Association, is the only authorized Web site about MLA style. This free, evolving resource is designed as a companion to the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook."