Find Sources - Start your search now!
OneSearch makes a broad search across many different library databases and resources. If you are not finding what you are looking for here, use the box tabs below to hone in on specific resource types.
Use these resources to find art, movies, and music.
Not sure which type of source above to start with or where to begin your search? Check out the resources below for tips on searching for specific types of information and links to recommended library databases.
For more help on how to search, visit the Search Effectively page.
Find Subject Specific Sources
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need very in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find eBooks:
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
Scholarly journal articles are basically the "bread-and-butter" sources for scholarly research - they're used in every discipline.
Why You Should Use Them:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) insures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Find Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
Newspaper articles help you find reviews, popular opinion, and information on a certain topic that is geared for the general public.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
Streaming Videos/Documentaries:
Depending on the assignment you are working on, audiovisual materials (videos, films, documentaries, music, audio files, images) can be valuable resources. We have databases with streaming videos on many topics available through our video databases.
Where to Find Streaming Videos:
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection for the study of American history through the lens of documentaries, archival footage, and newsreels. Content providers include Ken Burns, PBS, Bullfrog, and The History Channel. - Academic Video OnlineMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Watch movies, foreign films, shorts, and documentaries on a wide of subjects, etc.
