Start Finding Sources with OneSearch
OneSearch is a broad search across many different subjects, databases, and resources. If you are not finding what you are looking for here, use the box below to hone in on subject-specific resources.
Advanced SearchPowered by 
Not sure which type of source to start with or what to do to search?! Check out the tabs below to search for tips on searching or specific types of information. For more help on how to search, visit the Search Effectively page.
Find Subject-Specific Sources
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need very in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access. - SAGE Ebooks and Reference This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly ebooks and reference books, handbooks, and professional development titles supporting research in social science disciplines such as education, psychology, sociology, business, politics and international relations, health care, media and communication, criminology, etc.
Where to Find Encyclopedia Articles:
- Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) HistoryProvides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia covers several disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, and sociology.
- Encyclopedia of Gay Histories and CulturesContains articles that cover the histories and wide cultural diversity of lesbian and gay life.
- LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia: An EncyclopediaGives students and general readers a current guide to the people and issues at the forefront of contemporary LGBTQ America. Articles cover literature and the arts, associations and organizations, individuals, law and public policy concerns, health and relationships, sexual issues, and numerous other topics.
Articles are basically the "bread-and-butter" sources for scholarly research. They are used in every discipline.
Why You Should Use Them:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) insures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Find Magazine and Journal Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from over a thousand scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full-text articles are available from each journal starting from its first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles.
- JSTOR: LQBT CollectionFeatures 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Find Newspaper Articles:
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from the Bay Area, state, national, and international sources. Suitable for research reports on current events and issues. Can be used to find primary sources for the historical development of a topic.