Find Sources - Start your search now!
OneSearch is a broad search across many different library databases and resources. If you are not finding what you are looking for here, use the box tabs below to hone in on specific resource types.
Advanced Search
Powered by 
Not sure which type of source above to start with or where to begin your search?! Check out the tabs below for tips on searching for specific types of information. For more help on how to search, visit the Search Effectively page.
Find Sources that Fit Your Topic
Why You Should Use Scholarly Articles:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Where to Find Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals in the political sciences including comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAccess peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Why You Should Use News Sources:
- Gears toward the general public
- Contains local, national, and international news
- Updates on current issues, topics, and events
- Offers In-depth investigative reporting
- Provides differing viewpoints in editorials and commentary
Where to Find Newspaper Articles in the LPC Library:
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from the Bay Area, state, national, and international sources. Suitable for research reports on current events and issues. Can be used to find primary sources for the historical development of a topic.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowLPC students and employees can sign up for free access to the NYT, which includes the daily news, archives, and the NYT Cooking app.
- Black Studies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies combines several research collections. The Schomburg Studies collection of essays by leading scholars provides a basic introduction to major topics. The Black Studies Periodicals consist of articles from 160+ scholarly journals and current magazines. Additional content includes primary and secondary sources such as historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, videos, and writings by Black intellectuals and leaders.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowDigitized collections of 19,000 American and global news sources, which includes 400+ current and historical Black publications, spanning the early 18th century to the early 21st – from pre-Revolution America to the modern era.
- Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new windowHLA is sourced from national and global news, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications. Coverage includes the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era.
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
- SAGE Ebooks and Reference This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly ebooks and reference books, handbooks, and professional development titles supporting research in social science disciplines such as education, psychology, sociology, business, politics and international relations, health care, media and communication, criminology, etc.
