How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography, Instruction, Research, and Information Services, Cornell University Library.
"An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited."
Writing an Annotated Bibliography , University Libraries, University of Toledo.
Includes: What is an annotation, elements of an annotation, structure of an annotation, format, step-by-step approach to annotating, and some diagrammed examples of annotations.
WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?
An annotated bibliography is a list of sources such as books, articles and web sites used for researching a topic. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 -200 words) descriptive and critical summarizing paragraph, called an annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.
A bibliography is also known by other terms such as Works Cited, References, and Cited Sources.
ANNOTATIONS VS. ABSTRACTS
Abstracts are short summaries usually found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles. Abstracts summarize the article, the study or proceedings content as described by the author (s). Annotations are descriptive and critical. Annotations identify the author's credentials while summarizing key points, reliability, bias or objectivity and usefulness.
ANNOTATION ELEMENTS
*Begin with bibliographic citation format (APA or MLA)
*Identify qualifications of the author(s) when possible
*Provide brief overview or summary of the focus, the purpose or main idea
*Relevance - is this source relevant to your topic/thesis. Explain how this is a relevant source.
We recommend using NoodleTools, an online service that helps you to properly format your citations and allows creations of works cited pages and annotated bibliographies.
Broude, N. (1998). Impressionism: A feminist reading. New York, NY: Rizzoli.
In this publication Broude has taken full advantage of her feminist lens to scrutinize modern French science. Her text is accessible and reader-friendly and uses poststructuralism without becoming a slave to its theories. Her systematic examination of the field, particularly in "The Gendering of Art, Science, and Nature in the Nineteenth Century," reveals underlying patterns of gender discrimination inherent in traditional French philosophy, which upholds Descartes' "I think, therefore I am." Her examination of the social relations between art and science compels readers to take a harder more sceptical look at the sexual politics of postmodernism, whose theory seems to be rooted within the French Cartesian tradition. Her book will make stimulating reading for anyone interested in art, the feminine principle, and how it is treated in a male-oriented universe.
Aras, B. & Caha, O. (2000). Fethullah Gulen and his liberal ‘Turkish Islam’ movement. Middle East Review of International Affairs Journal, 4 (4), 30-42. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.
Fethullah Gulen has founded a movement that attempts to be modernist, nationalist, Islamic, and democratic all at the same time. The article is a brief survey of Gulen, covering his life and influences, the foundations of the movement, the relationship to the military and Islamic community. The secular elites are covered, but not in any great depth. The authors, both professors in Mideast international relations, provide a well-reasoned and insightful analysis of the significance of the movement, and conclude that Gulen's role will be an important one as a religious leader in modern Turkey, despite the multiple conflicting interests of his followers.
Huber, J. L. (2010). Sing it out: Riot Grrrls, Lilith Fair, and feminism. Kaleidoscope: A Graduate Journal of Qualitative Communication Research, 9(2), 65-85. Retrieved from Communication and Mass Media database.
This essay analyzes two women-inspired music events, the Riot Grrrl movement and Lilith Fair, from a feminist perspective. Huber, from Southern Illinois University, investigated the two events in their relationship with feminism and feminist activism. Using her knowledge of feminist standpoint theory and muted group theory she showed the connections between the artistic and political in the feminist movement. She analyzed the lyrics of one song from two Riot Grrrl artists (Bikini Kill and Sleater-Kinney) and two Lilith Fair artists (Sarah McLachlan and the Cardigans), highlighting the differences between the two movements while also emphasizing the value and need for both.
Adapted from How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography, Instruction, Research, and Information, Cornell University Library. And Writing an Annotated Bibliography, University Libraries, University of Toledo. APA Examples, Writing Center, UNC –Chapel Hill. CW/10-13