Credo Reference Search Box
Like the reference section in the library, use Credo Reference database for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
This online version contains nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo also brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Use similar search strategies as you would with our online catalog and databases.
Reference Collection
Use REFERENCE BOOKS for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
Sample Reference Titles
The Making of Modern Immigration: An Encyclopedia of People and IdeasCall Number: Ref. JV6450 .M363 2012 v.1-2ISBN: 9780313392023Publication Date: 2012
Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation, and IntegrationCall Number: eBook and Ref. JV6450 .I5536 2013 v.1-4ISBN: 9781598842197Publication Date: 2013
People of Color in the United States: Contemporary Issues in Education, Work, Communities, Health, and ImmigrationCall Number: Ref. E184 .A1 P384 2016 v.1-4ISBN: 9781610698542Publication Date: 2016
Latinas in the United States: A Historical EncyclopediaCall Number: eBook and Ref. E184 .S75 L35 2006ISBN: 9780253346803Publication Date: 2006
Locating Books in the LPC Library
Finding titles that relate to your topic, can be done in the Catalog section on the Library Homepage.
Example of Words / Phrases Searches:
- Women and Immigration
- Women Immigrants United States
- Asian American Women and Immigration
- Acculturation and immigrants
Subject search looks for the subjects that have been assigned by a cataloger that match the search term.
Example of Subject Search:
- Women Immigrants United States Social Condition
- Women Immigrants United States 20th Century
- Emigration and Immigration Psychological Aspects
Ebooks
Las Positas Library has a large collection of ebooks available for you to use.
Ebook titles will show up in the Library Catalog
To access these books when off campus, log in with your W# and Library Password.
- Your Library Password is the SAME as your ClassWeb PIN.
- If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's ClassWeb page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
- Whenever you change your ClassWeb PIN, it will also automatically update your library password (it may take up to 30 minutes before the password change is reflected for library services).
Select Books and eBooks
Bint Arab; Arab and Arab American Women in the United States by Call Number: E 184 .A65 S48 1997
French War Brides in America by Call Number: D 810 .W7 K24 2008
Immigrant Women Tell Their Stories by Call Number: HQ 1154 .B4148 2004
Immigration and Women; Understanding the American Experience by Call Number: JV 6602 P43 2011
Mexican Women and the Other Side of Immigration by Call Number: F5754 .D49 M514 2010
Rosa: The Life of an Italian Immigrant by Call Number: E184 .I8 E8 1999ISBN: 0299162540Publication Date: 1999
Select Books and eBooks
Beyond Cannery RowCall Number: F 869 M7 M38 2006
Beyond the Shadow of CamptownCall Number: E 184 K6 Y85 2002
Daily Life of the New Americans by Call Number: JV6455 .S95 2010ISBN: 9780313363139Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Entangling Alliances; Foreign War Brides and American Soliders in the Twentieth Century by Call Number: U 766 Z45 2010
Foreign and Female by Call Number: HQ1410 .W43 1995ISBN: 0816031002Publication Date: 1995
Unbound Feet - A Social History of Chinese Women in San FranciscoCall Number: F 869 S39 C595 1995
Unequal SistersCall Number: HQ 1410 U54 2008
Voices of the Heart: Asian American Women on Immigration, Work, and Family by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781931112680Publication Date: 2007
Women and the American Experience by Call Number: HQ1410 .W64 2011
