Using Magazine and Journal Articles
Articles, including popular, scholarly, and scholarly-peer reviewed from periodicals are great for exploring a narrower, particular aspect of your topic. Each type of article can be found through our online library databases and offer a different sort of view, depending on there purpose.
To find articles use one of the recommended periodical databases for this class. Once the database is open, search for your topic by keyword, refine your results, capture relevant entries, and finally, be sure to enter in the citation information into Noodletools or other citing tool.
Off Campus Access to Databases
To access the LPC Library Databases when off-campus, log in with your W# and Library Password.
- Your Library Password is the SAME as your CLASS-Web PIN.
- If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's CLASS-Web page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
- Whenever you change your CLASS-Web PIN, it will also automatically update your library password (it may take up to 30 minutes before the password change is reflected for library services).
Recommended Databases to Find Journal and Magazine Articles
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowOffers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. - Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals in the political sciences including comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.
Newspaper Articles
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowLPC students and employees can sign up for free access to the NYT, which includes the daily news, archives, and the NYT Cooking app.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
Locating Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal
To limit your periodical database search to only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" within the search interface for the database.
Or look for the icon in front of the article. Each databases has a specific icon that represents peer-reviewed journals. This icon is found before each entry.
Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.
Database Searching Tips
Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.
Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.
1) Determine the key words:
2) Use quotation marks around any phrases
3) Look at Subject Headings listed under the Title information
4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy.
**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian. A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**