Encyclopedias in Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today by Call Number: Ref E 76.2 E527 2013 v. 1-2
Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc.
Many also contain bibliographies for further research.
*Research Tip: Use the book's table of contents (front of book) or index (back of book) to quickly locate your topic.
Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
*There are many specialized or subject encyclopedias on American Indians or Native Americans. This is a list of a few recommeded ones. More titles may be available.
Use the LPC Library Catalog to find additional encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.
Atlas of the North American Indian by Call Number: G1106 .E1 W3 2009
Encyclopedia of American Indian History by Call Number: E77 .E48 2008, vol. 1-4
American Indian Religious Traditions by Call Number: E98 .R3 C755 2005, vol. 1-3
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Call Number: KF8205 .E525 2009 V.1-2
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights by Call Number: KF8210.C5 E53 1997
American Indians and Popular Culture by Call Number: E98 .P99 A48 2012, vol. 1-2
Encyclopedia of Native-American History by Call Number: E77 .E53 2011, vol. 1-3
A Native American Encyclopedia by Call Number: E76.2 .P75 1998
The Encyclopedia of Native-American Economic History by Call Number: E98.E2 E52 1999
A to Z of Native American Women by Call Number: E98.W8 S65 1998
St. James Guide to Native North American Artists by Call Number: E98.A7 S8 1998
The Encyclopedia of Native American Biography by Call Number: E89.J69 1998
Native North American Biography by Call Number: E89 .N395 1996, vol. 1-2
Voices of Multicultural America by Call Number: PS663.M55 V64 1996
Voices of the American Indian Experience by Call Number: Ref. E77 .V65 2013 v. 1-2Publication Date: 2012
Concise Encyclopedia of the American Indian by Call Number: E76.2 .G73 1994
Atlas of Indian Nations by Call Number: Ref. E77 .T74 2013Publication Date: 2014
