Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
Library Research Databases
To find articles published in journals, magazines, newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases.
In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on topics related to Afghanistan and Afghan culture:
History Databases:
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowReference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection for the study of American history through the lens of documentaries, archival footage, and newsreels. Content providers include Ken Burns, PBS, Bullfrog, and The History Channel.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowOffers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Controversial Issues (Contemporary issues concerning Afghanistan and Afghans):
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
News and Culture:
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowIncludes regional, national, and international newspapers.
General Reference Information:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowFilms and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building.
Literature Databases:
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes literary criticism, explication, biographies, bibliographies, and work overviews for 100,000+ novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowEssays examine great writers, important literary works, memorable characters, historical context, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Image Databases:
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowNow embedded in the Jstor database, Artstor is a digital library of million+ images in the arts, photography, architecture, history and culture with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images available for research and academic purposes. Contributors include museums, photo archives, and artists.
*Additional databases can be found on the LPC Library website:
Sample Search Terms
Sample Search Terms
- "Nadir Shah"
- "Sunni"
- "pashtun"
- "hazara"
Please note that there might be alternative spellings (for example, "koran" or "quran"; "Share-e Nau" or "Shahr i-Naw"; "Nadir" or "Nader").
Ask a librarian if you need help developing your search terms.
Searching Tips:
*Use quotation marks around phrases:
example: "Northern Alliance"
*Use connecting (boolean) words such as "and", "or" to connect multiple terms or phrases:
example #1: afghanistan AND "soviet union"
example #2: afghan AND ("social life" OR customs)