Locating Books in the LPC Library
Finding titles that relate to your topic, can be done in the Catalog section on the Library Homepage.
Use the Library Catalog to search for titles by subject or words/phrases.
Use REFERENCE BOOKS for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
Credo Reference Search Box
Like the reference section in the library, use Credo Reference database for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
This online version contains nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo also brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Use similar search strategies as you would with our online catalog and databases.
Selected Reference Titles
American Decades, 1970-1979 by Call Number: Ref E 169.12 .A4197 1995Publication Date: 1995
There are many specialized subject encyclopedias that are useful for the Film Analysis Project. This is a list of a few recommended ones:
Cold War by Call Number: Ref D 843 .C577247 2008 V. 1Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Call Number: Ref E 185 .E5453 2009 V. 1Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues by Call Number: Ref HN 59.2 .E343 2011 V. 1Publication Date: 2010
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events, 1848-2006 by Call Number: Ref HQ 73 .G74 2007 V.1Publication Date: 2006
Icons of Black America by Call Number: Ref E 185.96 .I26 2011 V.1Publication Date: 2011
The Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: Ref DS 557.7 .E53 2011 V.1Publication Date: 2011
The Encyclopedia of World War II by Call Number: Ref D 740 .E516 2004 V.1Publication Date: 2004
The Thirties in America by Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .T475 2011 V.1Publication Date: 2011
The Twenties in America by Call Number: Ref E 784 .T84 2012 V.1Publication Date: 2012
