Why Start Your Research with an Encyclopedia?
- Encyclopedias are useful for getting ideas. Browse a detailed table of contents or topic outline.
- Encyclopedias are useful for getting an overview or summary about a subject.
- Encyclopedias are useful for identifying keywords you can use to search the online catalog, databases, and the Web. Keep track of the keywords you come across as you read.
- Encyclopedia entries may lead you to other sources. Look for a bibliography ("Further Reading," "Resources") at the end of an article.
Reference Databases
Use these databases as tools to find definitions or get introductory information on a topic. You would not include them on your Works Cited.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Nearly 4 million full-text reference entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across all GVRL subject encyclopedias. Subjects covered: arts, environment, general reference, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social science.
GVRL search examples:
- women role "catholic church"
- women sports
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from reference books, encyclopedias, books, history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures. - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Reference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present. - African-American History Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference source for the study of Black history, culture, and notable individuals. Includes books, images, videos, and primary sources.
Credo Tutorial
Did you know?
Access online databases from home, using your W# and ClassWeb password
When logging in from home, make sure the W in your W-ID is capitalized.
Selected e-Reference Books
Following is a list of recommended e-encyclopedias covering various aspects of women's history.
Encyclopedia of Gender and SocietyPublication Date: 2009
The Social History of the American FamilyPublication Date: 2014
Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference HandbookPublication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North AmericaPublication Date: 2006
Asian American SocietyPublication Date: 2014
Latinas in the United States: A Historical EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2006
Women's Health Concerns SourcebookPublication Date: 2009
Prostitution and Sex WorkPublication Date: 2010
Women, Science, and Myth: Gender Beliefs from Antiquity to the PresentPublication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Women in the American WestPublication Date: 2003
American Women of Science Since 1900Publication Date: 2011
Selected Print Encyclopedias
Following is a list of recommended encyclopedias in print covering various aspects of women's history.
Encyclopedia of Sex and GenderCall Number: Ref. HQ16 .E52 2007- Encyclopedia of Gender and SocietyCall Number: Ref. HQ1115 .E54 2009
Social Issues in America: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref. HN57 .S624 2006- Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North AmericaCall Number: Ref. BL458 .E52 2006
Asian Americans: An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political HistoryCall Number: Ref. E184 .A75 A842648 2014- Latinas in the United States: A Historical EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref. E184 .S75 L35 2006
Black Women in AmericaCall Number: Ref. E185.86 .B542 2005
Women in the American Civil WarCall Number: Ref. E628 .W655 2007
Sports Around the World: History, Culture, and PracticeCall Number: Ref. GV706.8 .S664 2012
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex WorkCall Number: Ref. HQ115 .E53 2006- Women, Science, and Myth: Gender Beliefs from Antiquity to the PresentCall Number: Ref. HQ1075 .W675 2008
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's WorldCall Number: Ref. HQ1115 .E55 2011
Women in the Middle Ages: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref. HQ1143 .W643 2004
Feminism and Women's Rights WorldwideCall Number: Ref. HQ1180 .F424 2010v. 1. Heritages, Roles, Issues
v. 2. Mental and Physical Health
v. 3. Feminism as Human Rights
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women: An Encyclopedia of Leaders, Causes & IssuesCall Number: Ref. HQ1236.5 .U6 S32 2006
Women in American Politics: History and MilestonesCall Number: Ref. HQ1236.5 .U6 W43 2012
Celebrating Women in American HistoryCall Number: Ref. HQ1410 .C45 2010- Encyclopedia of Women in the American WestCall Number: Ref. HQ1438 .W45 E53 2003
Women and Music in America Since 1900: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref. ML82 .W625 2002
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American LiteratureCall Number: Ref. PS153.M56 G74 2005- American Women of Science Since 1900Call Number: Ref. Q141 .W42 2011
