Library Research Databases
To find articles published in journals, magazines, newspapers or other periodicals, use the library's online databases.
Reference Databases
Use these databases as tools to find definitions or get introductory information on a topic. You would not include them on your Works Cited.
- Science Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Learn topics important to the study of a broad range of scientific disciplines from reference sources including books, images, videos, and primary sources. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos.
Off Campus Access to Databases
To login to LPC Library databases from off-campus, enter your LPC W# and ClassWeb PIN.
Tips:
W# (Be sure to include the letter W.)
6 Digit PIN (Your library password is the SAME as your ClassWeb PIN; if you change your ClassWeb PIN that will also change your library password.)
Magazine, Journal, and Newspaper Articles
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles on such topics as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Sample search in GreenFILE:
►Research question: How does recycling help solve our environmental problems?
sample search: recycling AND benefits
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and images.
Sample searches in MasterFILE Complete:
►Research question #1: Should genetically modified foods be developed further or banned entirely?
sample search: "genetically modified foods" AND safety
►Research question #2: Are breast cancer rates rising or falling? What is the cause?
sample search: "breast cancer" AND rates
(synonyms for rates: incidence, statistics)
►Research question #3: What causes autism?
sample search: autism AND causes
Newspaper Articles
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowNew York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune
