Encyclopedias
Why start your research with an encyclopedia?
- Encyclopedias are useful for getting ideas. Browse a detailed table of contents or topic outline.
- Encyclopedias are useful for getting an overview or summary about a subject.
- Encyclopedias are useful for identifying keywords you can use to search the online catalog, databases, and the Web. Keep track of the keywords you come across as you read.
- Encyclopedia entries may lead you to other sources. Look for a bibliography ("Further Reading," "Resources") at the end of an article.
Accessing eReference Books Off Campus
Some reference books are available online.
To use any of the library's e-Reference Books while you are off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password:
- First 2 letters of first name,
- First 2 letters of last name,
- Last 4 digits of W#
- Example: jado6789
* If you don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.
Credo Reference Search Box
Recommended Encyclopedias from Reference Collection
Following is a list of recommended encyclopedias covering various aspects of women's history. Some books listed below are e-reference books, as indicated by "e-book" next to the call number. We have several databases containing e-reference encyclopedias.
Social Issues in America: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref. HN57 .S624 2006Publication Date: 2006v. 1. Abortion and reproductive issues -- Campaign finance reform
v. 2. Cancer -- Disability rights
v. 3. Divorce and child custody --
Gun violence and gun control
v. 4. Hate crimes -- Media consolidation
v. 5. Media sex and violence -Pornography
v. 6. Poverty and wealth --
Superstores vs. Main Street
v. 7. Sweatshops --
Xenophobia and Nativism
v. 8. Index- Women in Medicine: An EncyclopediaCall Number: e-book
Encyclopedia of Women and SportsCall Number: e-book
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North AmericaCall Number: Ref. BL458 .E52 2006Publication Date: 2006Also available as an e-book.
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work by Call Number: Ref. HQ115 .E53 2006Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's WorldCall Number: Ref. HQ1115 .E55 2011
Feminism and Women's Rights WorldwideCall Number: Ref. HQ1180 .F424 2010Also available as an e-book.
v. 1. Heritages, Roles, Issues
v. 2. Mental and Physical Health
v. 3. Feminism as Human Rights
Women in American Politics: History and MilestonesCall Number: Ref. HQ1236.5 .U6 W43 2012
Celebrating Women in American HistoryCall Number: Ref. HQ1410 .C45 2010v. 1. Colonization, revolution, and the New Republic beginnings to 1860 --
v. 2. Industrialization, political activism, and the Temperance Movement, 1861 to 1899 --
v. 3. Emerging roles in the Progressive Era and Great Depression, 1900 to 1937 --
v. 4. Expanding social roles and postwar activism, 1938 to 1960 --
v. 5. Modern Feminist Movement and contemporary issues, 1961-Present
