What Is a Database? What Sources Can You Find in a Database?
A database is a collection of magazine, journal, and newspaper articles on various subjects searchable in electronic format.
Examples:
Magazines: TIME, Psychology Today
Journals: Journal of American History, JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association)
Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle, Washington Post
Examples of databases:
Academic Search Complete: general multidisciplinary database that covers many subject areas
America History & Life: covers the history, culture, and current affairs of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
GenderWatch
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc.
Sample search #1:
"child marriage" OR "child brides"
Sample search #2:
"water supply" collection girls
Sample search #3:
women AND sweatshops
Sample search #4:
"honor killings"
Search search #5:
"human trafficking" OR "sex trafficking"
Research from Home!
Use your W ID and PIN to access the Library's databases from home.
Locating Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal Articles
To limit your periodical database search to only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" within the search interface for the database.
Or look for the icon in front of the article. Each databases has a specific icon that represents peer-reviewed journals. This icon is found before each entry.
Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.
Learn More: What is a scholarly/peer-reviewed journal?
