Finding Articles: Popular, Scholarly, and Peer-Reviewed
Articles are an excellent way to explore specific aspects of your topic. Depending on their purpose, different types of articles—popular, scholarly, and scholarly peer-reviewed—offer unique perspectives.
All these types of articles can be found through the library’s online databases.
How to Find Articles
- Select a Database: Use one of the periodical databases recommended for your class (see the list to the right).
- Search Your Topic: Enter keywords related to your topic.
- Refine Your Results: Use database filters to narrow down by article type, publication date, or subject.
- Save Relevant Entries: Capture articles that are relevant to your research.
- Cite Your Sources: Record citation details in NoodleTools or your preferred citation tool.
Learn About Article Types
Want to know more about the differences between popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles? Click here to learn about their purposes and characteristics.
Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
-
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAccess peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
-
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowJournal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFind business and legal sources, including international, national, and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and non-English language news services. The Company Dossier module contains detailed company information and financial performance measures, and the ability to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Shepard's Citations contains all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
Suggested Search Terms
Community policing
Homicide investigation
Forensic sciences
Criminal justice
Juvenile justice
Corrections
Miranda rights
Mandatory minimum sentencing
Tips for Better Search Results
When using library databases, search terms are critical for finding good results. The computer searches only for the exact words you type into the search box, typically looking in these fields:
- Title
- Abstract
- Subject Headings
Make the Most of Subject Headings
Subject Headings are listed beneath an article's title and publication details.
- When you find a good article, check its Subject Headings.
- Use those terms in your next search to discover more articles on the same topic.
Steps for Effective Searching
- Identify Key Words: Start with the most important terms related to your topic.
- Use Quotation Marks for Phrases: For example, search for
"climate change"instead of climate change. - Check Subject Headings: Reuse these terms in your search to improve results.
- Adjust Your Search Strategy:
- Broaden your search if you're getting too few results.
- Try synonyms or related terms.
Need Help?
If you’re having trouble finding what you need, contact an LPC librarian.
What we can help with:
- Suggesting search terms or strategies.
- Recommending additional databases to explore.
We’re here to help you succeed in your research!