Find Subject-Specific Sources
Incorporate videos, documentaries, music, and art when doing research in the visual and performing arts. Explore the databases below to find multimedia resources on such topics as painting, drawing, sculpture, photography, film and filmmaking, architecture, design, art history, dance, playtexts and playwrights, music genres, and more.
Where to Find Multimedia Resources (audio, video, images) in the LPC Library:
- Drama Online This link opens in a new windowDrama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
This collection contains information for theater studies and literature courses. Covers a range of topics including epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal.
Includes Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance. - Academic Video OnlineMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- World Cinema Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThis unique collection includes the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, American and European masterpieces from the mid-20th century, award-winning contemporary films from Global Lens, and films from Africa and the African diaspora from ArtMattan Productions. The collection shines a light on the history of cinema while also providing a glimpse into the cultures and issues of countries around the world—making it useful beyond film studies departments by bringing value to programs in area studies, political science, history, world languages, and more.
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images available for research and academic purposes. Collections consist of contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists/artists' estates. - Music Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming Music – Music Online combines the following databases to allow cross searching of all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press: African American Song, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Jazz Music Library. - Docuseek
Docuseek streams documentaries on social and environmental issues. Includes independent films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution such as Bullfrog, Icarus, BBC, Fanlight, First Run Features, Good Docs, Women Make Movies, etc.
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access. - SAGE Ebooks and Reference This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly ebooks and reference books, handbooks, and professional development titles supporting research in social science disciplines such as education, psychology, sociology, business, politics and international relations, health care, media and communication, criminology, etc.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowIncludes O’Reilly technical/ITS books, videos, live training, interactive learning scenarios, and case studies. Books are from O'Reilly and major IT publishers, like Pearson, Packt, Sun, Addison Wesley, Manning, etc. Additional resources cover topics in business, career skills, communication, etc..
Why You Should Use Scholarly Articles:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Where to Find Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Over 10,000 magazines and scholarly journals covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
