Find Subject-Specific Sources
Explore the databases below to find multimedia resources on journalism, English and world literature, English language learning, speech and communication, world languages, and American Sign Language, and more.
Where to Find Multimedia Resources in the LPC Library:
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Academic Video OnlineMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- World Cinema Video Collection This link opens in a new windowWatch movies from the silent era, international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, award-winning contemporary films from Global Lens, and films from Africa and the African diaspora from ArtMattan Productions. The collection shines a light on the history of cinema while also providing a glimpse into the cultures and issues of countries around the world in area studies, political science, history, world languages, and more.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Watch movies, foreign films, shorts, and documentaries on a wide of subjects, etc. - Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowWatch 700 full-length feature films, dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, foreign films, animation, Academy Award® winners, and more. 90 Spanish language films included.
- Docuseek
Docuseek streams documentaries on social and environmental issues. Includes independent films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution such as Bullfrog, Icarus, BBC, Fanlight, First Run Features, Good Docs, Women Make Movies, etc.
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access. - SAGE Ebooks and Reference This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly ebooks and reference books, handbooks, and professional development titles supporting research in social science disciplines such as education, psychology, sociology, business, politics and international relations, health care, media and communication, criminology, etc.
- Libby: Ebooks and Audiobooks This link opens in a new windowA growing collection of eBooks and audiobooks including popular fiction and non-fiction literature for academic and personal enrichment. Books can be read/listened to in any browser or the free Libby mobile app.
Why You Should Use Scholarly Articles:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Where to Find Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 380+ scholarly journals on the subject of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. - Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowUnderstand today’s criticial issues by exploring hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays examine great writers, important literary works, memorable characters, historical context, and influential movements and events in world literature. - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes literary criticism, explication, biographies, bibliographies, and work overviews for 100,000+ novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
- Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new windowThe content in HLA is sourced from more than 17,000 American and global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications. The period covered includes the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era.
- Primary Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes popular magazines on all subjects written at a basic level appropriate for ESL students. All articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). - Explora Secondary This link opens in a new windowA basic search interface useful for ESL users who have more advanced research and reading skills.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new windowCovers multiple subject areas, which makes for a good choice for ESL students looking for information written at a basic level. Content includes magazines, reference books, biographies, primary sources, and images.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and images.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes regional, national, and international newspapers.
- NewswiresEBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.