Find Subject-Specific Sources
Explore the databases below to find multimedia resources on anthropology, education, child development, psychology, guidance and counseling, history, women's and gender studies, sociology, political and social movements, philosophy, and religion.
Where to Find Multimedia Resources in the LPC Library:
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection for the study of American history through the lens of documentaries, archival footage, and newsreels. Content providers include Ken Burns, PBS, Bullfrog, and The History Channel. - Child Care Exchange: Ed.Flicks This link opens in a new window
A professional development tool for child care providers and ECE specialists that provides access to 140+ short video segments on addressing infant and toddler care, child assessment, challenging behaviors, family partnership, teacher performance, etc.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Docuseek streams documentaries on social and environmental issues. Includes independent films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution such as Bullfrog, Icarus, BBC, Fanlight, First Run Features, Good Docs, Women Make Movies, etc.
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access. - SAGE Ebooks and Reference This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly ebooks and reference books, handbooks, and professional development titles supporting research in social science disciplines such as education, psychology, sociology, business, politics and international relations, health care, media and communication, criminology, etc.
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new windowAccess to scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve into specific subfields within psychology.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
Why You Should Use Scholarly Articles:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Where to Find Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. - Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals in the political sciences including comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA). - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present. - Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new windowHLA is sourced from national and global news, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications. Coverage includes the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era.
- African-American History Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference source for the study of Black history, culture, and notable individuals. Includes books, images, videos, and primary sources. - Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowDigitized collections of 19,000 American and global news sources, which includes 400+ current and historical Black publications, spanning the early 18th century to the early 21st – from pre-Revolution America to the modern era.
- Black Studies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies combines several research collections. The Schomburg Studies collection of essays by leading scholars provides a basic introduction to major topics. The Black Studies Periodicals consist of articles from 160+ scholarly journals and current magazines. Additional content includes primary and secondary sources such as historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, videos, and writings by Black intellectuals and leaders.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journal articles on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access education trade journals in the field of teaching and school administration. - Child Care Exchange: Articles This link opens in a new window
A professional learning resource for early childhood educators. Exchange articles are written by ECE experts on all aspects of caring for children.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from the Bay Area, state, national, and international sources. Suitable for research reports on current events and issues. Can be used to find primary sources for the historical development of a topic.