Find Subject-Specific Sources
Explore the databases below to find multimedia resources on Biology, Computer Science and Information Technology, Geology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography, Mathematics, Astronomy, Chemistry, Physics, Agricultural Sciences, and Technology and Society.
Where to Find Multimedia Resources in the LPC Library:
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Academic Video OnlineMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- Docuseek
Docuseek streams documentaries on social and environmental issues. Includes independent films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution such as Bullfrog, Icarus, BBC, Fanlight, First Run Features, Good Docs, Women Make Movies, etc.
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - Science Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learn topics important to the study of a broad range of scientific disciplines from reference sources including books, images, videos, and primary sources. - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowIncludes O’Reilly technical/ITS books, videos, live training, interactive learning scenarios, and case studies. Books are from O'Reilly and major IT publishers, like Pearson, Packt, Sun, Addison Wesley, Manning, etc. Additional resources cover topics in business, career skills, communication, etc..
Why You Should Use Scholarly Articles:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Where to Find Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Suitable for research in botany, microbiology, zoology, and environmental studies. Includes 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and other publications such as conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals and government publications covering all aspects of human impact to the environment and climate change. - ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowContains Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new windowA collection of interactive databases and dictionaries including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, etc.
- Merck Index This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided include chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses.The Merck Index Online also includes sections on organic name reactions and additional tables. The Merck Index can be searched by structure with the installation of a free ChemDraw plug-in available on the structure search page.
- Credo InfoLit Health ScienceThrough self-paced tutorials, learn essential research concepts that are unique to the health sciences. Topics include finding sources, interpreting and evaluating evidence, bias in research, understanding and using research sources, etc.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from the Bay Area, state, national, and international sources. Suitable for research reports on current events and issues. Can be used to find primary sources for the historical development of a topic.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.