Find Subject-Specific Sources
Explore the databases below to find multimedia resources on healthcare and treatment, health careers, nutrition, personal health and wellness, criminal justice and public safety.
Where to Find Multimedia Resources in the LPC Library:
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Academic Video OnlineMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- Docuseek
Docuseek streams documentaries on social and environmental issues. Includes independent films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution such as Bullfrog, Icarus, BBC, Fanlight, First Run Features, Good Docs, Women Make Movies, etc.
When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access. - SAGE Ebooks and Reference This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly ebooks and reference books, handbooks, and professional development titles supporting research in social science disciplines such as education, psychology, sociology, business, politics and international relations, health care, media and communication, criminology, etc.
Why You Should Use Scholarly Articles:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Where to Find Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 550 journals and magazines in nursing, medicine, and allied health disciplines. - PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free online database of biomedical literature maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It includes over 30 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, full-text articles, and other related resources, such as clinical guidelines and systematic reviews. Most notable is its refinement tools allowing users to refine by type, study, or review. Look for the link to take advantage of LPC Library's resource access for any items that are not freely available. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowUnderstand today’s criticial issues by exploring hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context.
- Credo InfoLit Health ScienceThrough self-paced tutorials, learn essential research concepts that are unique to the health sciences. Topics include finding sources, interpreting and evaluating evidence, bias in research, understanding and using research sources, etc.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from the Bay Area, state, national, and international sources. Suitable for research reports on current events and issues. Can be used to find primary sources for the historical development of a topic.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.