Encyclopedias
Why start your research with an encyclopedia?
- Encyclopedias are useful for getting ideas. Browse a detailed table of contents or topic outline.
- Encyclopedias are useful for getting an overview or summary about a subject.
- Encyclopedias are useful for identifying keywords you can use to search the online catalog, databases, and the Web. Keep track of the keywords you come across as you read.
- Encyclopedia entries may lead you to other sources. Look for a bibliography ("Further Reading," "Resources") at the end of an article.
Online Encyclopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
e-Reference books in the following areas:
Environment
Medicine
Science
Examples of GVRL titles:
Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders
Food
Biotechnology: In Context
Alternative Energy - Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to content from Salem Press reference books, covering literature, history, science, and health. - Science Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learn topics important to the study of a broad range of scientific disciplines from reference sources including books, images, videos, and primary sources.
Off Campus Access to Databases
To login to LPC Library databases from off-campus, enter your LPC W# and ClassWeb PIN.
Tips:
W# (Be sure to include the letter W.)
6 Digit PIN (Your library password is the SAME as your ClassWeb PIN; if you change your ClassWeb PIN that will also change your library password.)
Recommended e-Reference Books
To access these books, click on blue title link. Then, in OneSearch, click on the link under View Online Full text availability.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and NutritionCall Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2013
Librarian
Recommended Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste: The Social Science of GarbageCall Number: Ref. HD4482 .E53 2012Also available as an e-book.
Forensic Science: An Encyclopedia of History, Methods, and TechniquesCall Number: Ref. HV8073 .T55 2006- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and TechnologyCall Number: Ref. Q121 .M3 2012
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and EthicsCall Number: Ref. Q175.35 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate ChangeCall Number: Ref. QC981.8 .G56 E47 2012Also available as an e-book.
Encyclopedia of Earth ScienceCall Number: Ref. QE5 .K85 2005
The Encyclopedia of MammalsCall Number: Ref. QL703 .E53 2006
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and NutritionCall Number: Ref. RA784 .G345 2008Also available as an e-book.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer: A Guide to Cancer and Its TreatmentsCall Number: Ref. RC254.5 .G353 2010
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Cancer and SocietyCall Number: Ref RC254.5 .E48 2015
