Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
Take a Look at These Magazine in the Periodical Section of the Library!
- Bay Nature
- Discover
- National Geographic
- Science
- Scientific American
- Smithsonian
Newspaper Databases
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowIncludes regional, national, and international newspapers.
Journal Databases
To find magazine and scholarly journal articles covering topics in marine biology, search the following databases:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
Sample search:
"kelp forests"
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new windowSuitable for research in botany, microbiology, zoology, and environmental studies. Includes 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and other publications such as conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports.
Sample search:
noise pollution marine mammals
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
Sample searches:
"deep-sea minding" ecosystems
sunscreen AND "environmental impact" oceans
Open-Access Journal Databases
- PLOS: Public Library of Science: BiologyUsers are free to read, copy, distribute, and enjoy the first-rate content without limits and at no charge. Crediting the author and original source is all that is required in return.
- Journal of Experimental BiologyFree full-text online journal in comparative animal physiology. It covers the form and function of living organisms at all levels of biological organisation, from the molecular and subcellular to the integrated whole animal.
Database Searching Tips
Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.
Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.
1) Determine the key words.
2) Use quotation marks around any phrases.
3) Look at Subject Headings listed under the Title information.
4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy.
As always, if you need research assistance, contact a librarian. A librarian can suggest other search terms, strategies, or databases to try.