Search Our Reference Collection
Use reference books for finding background information, broad overviews, and keywords you can use later to search the online catalog, the databases, and the web.
Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
E-Reference databases containing articles are also available. (See below.)
Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
e-Reference Databases
Some reference books are available online.
- Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online access to content from Salem Press reference books, covering such topics such as Biomes and Ecosystems, Environmental Issues, and Global Warming. - Science Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learn topics important to the study of a broad range of scientific disciplines, including Environmental Studies and Marine Science. Source types include books, images, videos, and primary sources.
Selected e-Reference and Print Titles
Specialized encyclopedias provide excellent overviews and summaries. This is a list of a few recommended ones:
Biomes and EcosystemsCall Number: Ref QH 541.15 B56 B64 2013
Encyclopedia of Marine MammalsCall Number: e-book
Encyclopedia of Marine ScienceCall Number: Ref. GC 9 N53 2017 (also available as e-book)
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming Science and TechnologyCall Number: e-book
Encyclopedia of Tidepools and Rocky ShoresCall Number: Ref. QH541.5 .S35 E53 2007 (also available as e-book)
Marine Conservation: Science, Policy, and ConservationCall Number: Ref. GC1018 .R39 2014
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Volumes 1-20 11th EditionCall Number: Ref. Q121 .M3 2012Publication Date: 11th ed.
Grzimek's Animal Life EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref.QL7. G7813 2003 (also available as e-book)Contents:
v. 1. Lowermetazoans and lesser deuterosomes -- v. 2. Protostomes -- v. 3. Insects -- v. 4-5. Fishes I-II -- v. 6. Amphibians -- v. 7. Reptiles -- v. 8-11. Birds I-IV -- v. 12-16. Mammals I-V -- v. 17. Cumulative index
