Find Sources - Start your search now!
OneSearch makes a broad search across many different library databases and resources. If you are not finding what you are looking for here, use the box tabs below to hone in on specific resource types.
Not sure which type of source above to start with or where to begin your search? Check out the resources below for tips on searching for specific types of information and links to recommended library databases.
For more help on how to search, visit the Search Effectively page.
Find Sources
Literary criticism is the study, evaluation, and interpretation of individual works of literature or an author's complete works.
Literary analysis involves examining all the parts of a novel, play, short story, or poem—elements such as character, setting, tone, and imagery—and thinking about how the author uses those elements to create certain effects.
Features of Literary Criticism & Analysis
- Published as journal articles or full-length books
- Peer-reviewed work of scholars
- More in-depth critique of a work (compared to book reviews)
- Intended for an academic audience
Find Literary Criticism & Analysis Sources:
Library databases recommended for locating literary criticism & analysis sources (ebooks, journal articles, etc).
Search Tip: Search in the database using the title of the work ("The Road") and the author's last name (McCarthy). For example: "The Road" AND McCarthy
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowEssays examine great writers, important literary works, memorable characters, historical context, and influential movements and events in world literature.
- Bloom's Literature Video TutorialCreated by Lincoln Land Community College Library.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes literary criticism, explication, biographies, bibliographies, and work overviews for 100,000+ novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
- Literature Resource Center Video TutorialShows you how to use the LRC for literary criticism.
- Salem Press Online This link opens in a new windowOnline access to content from Salem Press reference books, covering literature, history, science, and health.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
