Start Finding Sources with OneSearch
OneSearch provides a broad search across many different library resources and databases. If you are not finding what you are looking for in OneSearch, use the tabs below to be guided to specific resource types and collections.
Powered by 
Find Sources
Encyclopedias
Specialized encyclopedias can provide background information about your topic. Try the library databases below to access specialized encyclopedias.
Find Background Information:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to content from Salem Press reference books, covering literature, history, science, and health. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including content related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies. - African-American History Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Reference source for the study of Black history, culture, and notable individuals. Includes books, images, videos, and primary sources. - Facts On File (portal page) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across all Facts on File reference collection databases. - History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
Books
Books written by scholars are a good source of information
for many topics.
Key Features of Scholarly Books
- Written on a broad subject
- Easier to read than journal articles, and written for a broad audience
- Often undergo a peer-review process
- May contain a collection of chapters written by different authors
- Contain less recent information, due to the lengthy publication process
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
How to Find Books and eBooks:
Use OneSe
arch to locate print books and ebooks in the library collection. Video Tutorial: "Using OneSearch"
*Tip: Under "Source Types" limit your search results to "books".
For ebooks, also limit to "Digital Items" under "Availability".
eBook Collections
In addition to the specialized reference collections listed on the Encyclopedias tab, the LPC Library provides access to the following eBook collections.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
Newspaper, Magazine and Journal Articles
Why You Should Use Them:
-
Information in Scholarly journal articles is based on research and expertise.
-
Scholarly journal articles add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas.
-
Newspaper and magazine articles help you find reviews, popular opinion, and information on a certain topic that is geared for the general public.
Find Articles:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - Black Studies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies combines several research collections. The Schomburg Studies collection of essays by leading scholars provides a basic introduction to major topics. The Black Studies Periodicals consist of articles from 160+ scholarly journals and current magazines. Additional content includes primary and secondary sources such as historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, videos, and writings by Black intellectuals and leaders.
- Child Care Exchange: Articles This link opens in a new windowA professional learning resource for early childhood educators. Exchange articles are written by ECE experts on all aspects of caring for children.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center contains 317,000+ full-text documents on pedagogy and educational practices dating back to 1966. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new windowHLA is sourced from national and global news, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications. Coverage includes the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and images. - Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. - Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access education trade journals in the field of teaching and school administration.
Streaming Videos (Audiovisual)
Depending on the assignment you are working on, audiovisual materials (videos, films, documentaries, music, audio files, images) can be valuable resources. We have databases with streaming videos on many topics available through our video databases.
Where to Find Streaming Videos:
- Academic Video OnlineMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection for the study of American history through the lens of documentaries, archival footage, and newsreels. Content providers include Ken Burns, PBS, Bullfrog, and The History Channel. - Child Care Exchange: Ed.Flicks This link opens in a new windowA professional development tool for child care providers and ECE specialists that provides access to 140+ short video segments on addressing infant and toddler care, child assessment, challenging behaviors, family partnership, teacher performance, etc.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowWatch 700 full-length feature films, dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, foreign films, animation, Academy Award® winners, and more. 90 Spanish language films included.
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Watch movies, foreign films, shorts, and documentaries on a wide of subjects, etc.
Web Resources
The quality of the information you find on the web varies tremendously so it is always a good idea to check the information against another source. As with all information resources, whether in print or on the Internet, evaluate its quality based on the following criteria:
- Accuracy (Is it free from mistakes and errors?)
- Authority (What are the qualifications of the author?)
- Objectivity (Is there any strong bias?)
- Currency (Is the information up to date?)
- Coverage (To what extent is the topic explored?)
That's just the basics. Learn more! Evaluating Sources Tutorial
Select Web Resources
- The History of Racism in America158 resources to understand racism in America. Article by Meilan Solly in Smithsonian Magazine, June 2020.
- Becoming American: The Chinese ExperienceProvides biographical portraits, eyewitness accounts, a timeline, a Chinese American history quiz, a viewer's guide, and links.
- Pew Hispanic CenterThe Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation.
- We Shall RemainFrom the award-winning PBS series American Experience comes We Shall Remain, a provocative multi-media project that establishes Native history as an essential part of American history.
- LGBTQ HistorySmithsonian Institute's National Museum of American History collection of LGBTQ material.
- Disability HistoryThe Telling All Americans’ Stories (TAAS) Disability History series brings attention to some of the many disability stories interwoven across the National Park Service’s 400+ units and its programs.