Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
Periodical Databases (Magazines, Journals, etc.)
To locate magazines and scholarly/ academic journal research articles on women in the military, use the LPC library periodical databases listed below:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowReference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowJournal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowOffers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Database Searching Tips
Let's say you want to find an article that discusses the harassment of women in the military. Here are some suggestions to go about doing this:
1) Determine the key words: women, harassment, and "armed forces"
2) Use quotation marks around any phrases:
Example: "armed forces"
(This will ensure that your search returns articles that are specifically about the armed forces, not just contain the word "armed" or just the word "forces".)
3) Use connector terms such as and or or between search terms:
Example: women and harassment and "armed forces"
(The more words you use, the more narrow/limiting your search will be, resulting in fewer articles. Using a connector word such as or will result in a broader search. For example: Women or females and harassment will search for articles about women and harassment and articles about females and harassment)
4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy.
Suggestions:
-Try searching with synonyms (words with similar meanings) of your key terms.
women: woman, female
harassment: abuse, discrimination
armed forces: military, army, navy
-Try removing one or more of your search terms to broaden your search.
**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian. A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**
Peer-Reviewed
Locating Scholarly/ Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
To only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed articles, select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" on the search page of the database.
Also, be sure to select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.
Learn More: What is a scholarly/peer-reviewed journal?