Credo Reference Search Box
Like the reference section in the library, use Credo Reference database for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
This online version contains nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo also brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Use similar search strategies as you would with our online catalog and databases.
Encyclopedias in Reference Collection
An Encyclopedia of American Women at War by Call Number: UB418 .W65 E53 2013 V.1-2Publication Date: 2012
Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries. Many also contain bibliographies for further research.
Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
Advanced Search
Sample Search Terms:
- Women, army
- Women, military
- Women, war
- World War, 1939-1945
- World War, 1914-1918
- Afghan War
There are a number of specialized or subject encyclopedias on women's in the military. There will also be helpful information in encyclopedias on specific wars.
Here are a few recommeded encyclopedias:
Celebrating Women in American History by Call Number: Ref HQ1410 .C45 2010Publication Date: 2011
American Women During World War II by Call Number: Ref D810 W7 W435 2010Publication Date: 2009
Women and War by Call Number: Ref U24 .W69 2006Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World by Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .E55 2011Publication Date: 2011
The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars by Call Number: Ref DS63.1 .E453 2010Publication Date: 2010
The Encyclopedia of World War II by Call Number: D740 .E516 2004Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by Call Number: Ref HQ1115.E43.2001Publication Date: 2001
Ethnic and Racial Minorities in the U. S. Military by Call Number: UB417 .E84 2013 V.1-2Publication Date: 2013
Contact a librarian
If you need research assistance, please contact an LPC librarian.
Reference Desk phone:
925-424-1150
Via 24/7 chat service
email: lpclibrarian@laspositascollege.edu
Online Reference Library Hours - Fall 2023:
| Monday-Thursday: | 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. |
| Friday: | 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. |
| Saturday: | 12 pm. to 4 p.m. |
| Sunday: | Closed |
*See library website for holiday closures: http://www.laspositascollege.edu/library/