Reference Materials
Reference materials, like dictionaries and encyclopedias, provide general overviews of topics. This is a great place to start your information gathering, once you have a topic. These sources are perfect for your project's introduction and background sections.
Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
eReference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowAn online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including content related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- Facts On File (portal page) This link opens in a new windowSearch across all Facts on File reference collection databases.
- SAGE Ebooks and Reference This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly ebooks and reference books, handbooks, and professional development titles supporting research in social science disciplines such as education, psychology, sociology, business, politics and international relations, health care, media and communication, criminology, etc.
- Salem Press Online This link opens in a new windowOnline access to content from Salem Press reference books, covering literature, history, science, and health.
Sample of Specialized Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Exercise Anatomy by Call Number: Ref. RA781 .L543 2014
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education by Call Number: Ref. LC1099 .E38 2012
Race and Racism in the United States by Call Number: Ref. E184 .A1 R254 2014
