Online Databases
The LPC Library subscribes to several online databases that contain articles published in magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers.
Start with these multiple subject databases:
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 380+ scholarly journals on the subject of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
Other databases that may cover aspects of your research paper:
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present. - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes regional, national, and international newspapers.
Off-Campus Login Instructions
Log in with your W# and Library Password.
- Your Library Password is the SAME as your CLASS-Web PIN.
- If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's CLASS-Web page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
- Whenever you change your CLASS-Web PIN, it will also automatically update your library password.
Finding Articles in Academic Search Complete
Sample Search Terms
healthcare AND disparities AND race
"race relations" AND "united states"
reparations AND "japanese americans"
reparations AND "african americans"
resegregation AND education
prisons (encarceration) and racism
"police misconduct"
healthcare AND poverty
"urban poor" AND education
"white supremacy"
"historical injustices"
inequality education "united states"
"institutional racism"
education and quality
discrimination in education
tracking
minorities and education
opportunity gap
achievement gap
wealth gap AND race
"American Dream"
"environmental justice"
"environmental racism"
"Asian Americans" AND movies AND stereotypes
stereotypes AND media AND minorities
"Arab Americans" AND politics
"affirmative action"
"Hispanic Americans" AND employment
Tips for Searching Databases
Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.
Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.
1) Determine the keywords
2) Use quotation marks around any phrases (e.g., "achievement gap")
3) Look at subject terms listed in the bibliographic record
4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy