Login Instructions
Please note that when you first try accessing these resources from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your W number and "MyPortal" PIN. Be sure to use upper case W when entering your W number. If you have not yet created your MyPortal account, you may do so here:
Online Databases
The LPC Library subscribes to several online databases that contain articles published in magazines, journals, and newspapers. These are the recommended databases for this project:
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and images.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
- Proquest Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch all of our Proquest databases at once (Biological Science Database, GenderWatch, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies, & US Major Dailies (1980 - current).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
Search Terms and Tips
Sample search terms:
- Farmer's market
- Farmer's market and local foods
- Obesity
- Obesity and children
- Obesity and children and fast food
Tips:
Use only the keywords from your research question. Do not type in a whole phrase.
- Example: DON'T = Organic food is more nutritious and healthy
- Example: DO = Organic food and nutrition
Try different related words or synonyms.
- Example: farms, farming, agriculture, agricultural
Add more keywords if you get too many results.
- Example: Organic food
- Example: Organic food and fruits
- Example: Organic food and fruits and pesticides