Why Reference Books?
Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries. This is a list of a few recommended ones on the topic of food.
E-Reference Books
Some, but not ALL, of the reference books are available online.
See our e-Reference Sources list or search the catalog.
To use any of the library's E-Reference Books while you are off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password:
- First 2 letters of first name,
- First 2 letters of last name,
- Last 4 digits of W#
- Example: jado6789
* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including content related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
Encyclopedias in Reference Collection
Environmental Encyclopedia by Call Number: Ref GE 10 E38 2011 V.1-2Publication Date: 2011Available as an E-BOOK. Click on title.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by Call Number: Ref GE 10 E523 2011 V.1-5Publication Date: 2011
Food Cultures of the World EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref GT 2850 F666 2011 V.1-4Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local FoodCall Number: Ref HD 9005 E645 2010Publication Date: 2009
The A-Z Encyclopedia of Food Controversies and the LawCall Number: Ref KF 3869 W53 2011 V.1-2Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in AmericaCall Number: Ref TX 349 E45 2004 V.1-2Publication Date: 2012
