Using Magazine and Journal Articles
Articles, including popular, scholarly, and scholarly-peer reviewed from periodicals are great for exploring a narrower, particular aspect of your topic. Each type of article can be found through our online library databases and offer a different sort of view, depending on there purpose.
To find articles use one of the recommended periodical databases for this class. Once the database is open, search for your topic by keyword, refine your results, capture relevant entries, and finally, be sure to enter in the citation information into Noodletools or other citing tool.
Off Campus Access to Databases
Accessing LPC Library databases from off-campus requires the following information:
W#
(be sure to include the letter W)
and
8 digit library PIN
(first two letters of first name, first two letters of last name, and last four numbers of your W).
Recommended Databases to Find Journal and Magazine Articles
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
Locating Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal
To limit your periodical database search to only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" within the search interface for the database.
Or look for the icon in front of the article. Each databases has a specific icon that represents peer-reviewed journals. This icon is found before each entry.
Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.
Database Searching Tips
Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.
Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.
1) Determine the key words:
2) Use quotation marks around any phrases
3) Look at Subject Headings listed under the Title information
4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy.
**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian. A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**