Start Finding Sources with OneSearch
Type your search terms in the OneSearch box below to find books, magazine articles, videos, and more.
Powered by 
Find Subject-Specific Sources
When and Why to Use Scholarly Books:
- You need to understand a complex topic (these are easier to read than journal articles)
- You need in-depth analysis of a topic
- You need broad coverage of one or more topics
- You need a summary of existing research on a topic
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where to Find Books and eBooks:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
Periodical articles are published in magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers.
Why You Should Use Them:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Find Articles:
- MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new windowCovers multiple subject areas, which makes for a good choice for ESL students looking for information written at a basic level. Content includes magazines, reference books, biographies, primary sources, and images.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and images. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
Depending on your assignment, videos and documentaries can be valuable resources. We have many streaming videos on various topics available through our video databases. Transcripts and closed captions are available. Language learners often find it helpful to read the dialogue or narration as they watch the movie.
Where to Find Videos and Documentaries:
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive video collection of 67,000 documentaries and films spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational videos covering a variety of topics. - Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Docuseek streams documentaries on social and environmental issues. Includes independent films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution such as Bullfrog, Icarus, BBC, Fanlight, First Run Features, Good Docs, Women Make Movies, etc.
