1. Explore a Topic
a. Search for current events or recent news related to sociology or society on the web, in a magazine, or on the news.
Examples:
b. Browse library databases that cover current issues and can help you get familiar with an issue or refine your topic . They make a great starting point when you have a general idea of a research topic, but you still need to narrow it down.
Examples:
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
c. Browse the table of contents, topic outlines, and indexes of subject encyclopedias for ideas. (See #2, below.)
2. Consult Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
- Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
- The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc.
- Subject encyclopedia articles are signed by contributors who are experts on the topic.
- Many also contain bibliographies or lists of recommended titles for further research.
- Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
- Use the LPC Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.
Recommended Reference Books & eBooks
Encyclopedia of SociologyCall Number: Ref HM425 .E5 2000ISBN: 9780028648521
International Encyclopedia of Social SciencesCall Number: Ref H40 .A2 I5 2008ISBN: 9780028659657
Encyclopedia of Human RelationshipsCall Number: Ref HM1106 .E53 2009ISBN: 9781452265742Available in print and ebook.
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ StudiesCall Number: Ref HQ75.15 .S24 2016ISBN: 9781483371306
Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American MosaicCall Number: Ref E184 .A1 R254 2014ISBN: 9781440803451
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and SocietyCall Number: Ref HT1521 .E63 2008ISBN: 9781412926942
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and HistoryCall Number: Ref E185 .E54 2006ISBN: 0028658167
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref HV6779 .S63 2012ISBN: 9781412988766
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and PoliticsCall Number: Ref HF1359 .G5854 2006ISBN: 9781576078266Available as an e-book.
Cultural Encyclopedia of the BodyCall Number: Ref. HM636 .C85 2008
Cultural Sociology of Divorce: An EncyclopediaCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9781452274430Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of DisabilityCall Number: Ref. HV1568 .E528 2006- Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and VoicesCall Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2014
Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: Ref. HN57 .S624 2006
eReference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos.
Login Instructions
If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password:
- first 2 letters of first name
- first 2 letters of last name
- last 4 digits of W#
- Example: jado6789
* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.