Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audio, Video, and Image Databases: Films on Demand Streaming Videos

Tips on how to search the library's multimedia databases and incorporate them into your courses.

 About this Database

An online collection of 20,000+ titles purchased to support LPC curriculum

Documentaries from:

  • Films for the Humanities
  • PBS
  • BBC
  • Cambridge Educational
  • ABC News
  • NBC News
  • Meridian Education

FMG Streaming Video Collection

 

  • Anthropology
  • Art and Architecture
  • Biology
  • Business and Economics
  • Career and Job Search
  • Education
  • English and Language Arts
  • Environmental Sciences
  • Guidance and Counseling
  • Health and Medicine
  • Music and Dance
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Technical and Trade Education
  • ...and more!

The main benefits of having a streaming video database:

  • Items are accessible on and off campus 24/7 to multiple users simultaneously. 
  • Films can used in the classroom or linked in Canvas.

 Creating an Account

Create a user account if you want to save any videos for easier retrieval later, sharing with students, or creating playlists.

Click Sign In or Create Account from the top right of any Films on Demand page.

However, you do not need to create an account or profile to simply search/browse or view videos. 

Searching and Browsing

BROWSE: There are two ways to browse by subject. 

  1. Scroll through the list on the homepge and choose View All Titles OR
  2. Select the Collections tab in the grey navigation bar. 

            * Notice the subject categories on the left column on the results page. 

               You can further narrow your results by selecting one of the terms.

SEARCH: You can search by title, segment, or transcipt contents.

  1. Type in your keywords. Keeping your search terms broad is a good idea. 
  2. Choose from the drop-down menu to search by title, segment (chapter), or transcript.

Viewing Videos

To watch a video, click on a title or thumbmail image.

Once you are on the video page, click the video screen or the play icon below the screen. 

To move through the video:

  • Drag the marker along the timeline
  • Click on the Segments tab (in the right column) to move through the video.
  • Click on anywhere within the transcript.  Select the Transcript tab from the right column. Notice that transcripts are synched with the narration or dialogue of the film.

Close captioning is available for most videos. 

  • For close captioning, hover the cursor over the upper right corner of the video screen.  When the Captioning function appears, click on the appropriate language option such as English.

Making Clips

To create a clip, click the Custom Segment (scissor) icon below the video pane. This will expand the screen and show all the clip-making features.

Login or create account, if you have already done so.Type in the start and end times.

Enter a title in the "Clip title" text box. [Requried]

You can annotate your clip in the Description field, if you wish.

To save select Create Segment button.

You can play your clip, add it to a new or existing playlist, and embed/link the clip to a document or webpage.

Remember to sign in to save your playlists from session to session!

Custom Segments Tutorial

Creating Playlists

You can add full length videos, standard segments, or custom segments to a playlist. 

Click on the + Playlist icon below the video screen. 

Choose whether to add the specific video or segment to a new or existing playlist.

When you are in the playlist, you can rearrange the order of the segments and add notes.

Sharing or Embedding Links

* DO NOT copy the URL located in the browser's location bar.

1. To put the entire video in any document, website, or Canvas course, copy and paste the Title URL located in the box under the video screen.

Example: http://lpclibrary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=100490&xtid=160794

2. To put  just a segment or chapter in any document, website, or Blackboard course, be sure to click on the segment title first.  Then copy and paste the Segement URL located in the box under the video screen.

3. To put a subject or collection link in any document, website, or Blackboard course, click on the collection you want then click on Page Link on the upper left.

4. To put a playlist in any document, website, Canvas course, copy and paste URL located at the bottom of the playlist.

 

In Canvas, select add Link then paste in URL.

  • Students and faculty accessing this link from off-campus will be required to log in with their W# and library password.