Off Campus Access to Databases
Accessing LPC Library databases from off-campus requires the following information:
W# and CLASS-Web Password
Scholarly Journals Vs. Popular Magazines
What are the Differences? LPC Library Short Guide.
Database Searching Tips
Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.
Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.
1) Determine the key words:
2) Use quotation marks around any phrases
3) Look at Subject Headings listed under the Title information
4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy.
**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian. A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**
Databases (Magazines, Journals, e-Books, etc.)
To locate magazines and scholarly/academic journal articles relating to your film, the following LPC library databases are recommended.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference source covering U.S. history, culture, and current affairs, spanning prehistory to the present. - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 380+ scholarly journals on the subject of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
- Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to content from Salem Press reference books, covering literature, history, science, and health. - Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Locating Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal Articles
Peer reviewed is the process of submitting drafts of articles for critical assessment by experts in the field or discipline before articles are accepted for publication in scholarly journals. The peer review process helps ensure the quality of informtion that is published in that field.
To limit your periodical database search to only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" within the search interface for the database.
Or look for the icon in front of the article. Each databases has a specific icon that represents peer-reviewed journals. This icon is found before each entry.
Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.