Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
Library Research Databases
To find articles published in journals, magazines, newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases.
In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on topics related to graphic narratives and novels:
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowEssays examine great writers, important literary works, memorable characters, historical context, and influential movements and events in world literature.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes literary criticism, explication, biographies, bibliographies, and work overviews for 100,000+ novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowContains 380+ scholarly journals on the subject of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos.
*Additional databases can be found on the LPC Library website:
Sample Search Terms
Searching Tips:
*Use quotation marks around phrases:
example: "graphic novel"
*Use connecting (boolean) words such as "and", "or" to connect multiple terms or phrases:
example #1: "graphic novel" and elements
example #2: 'graphic novel" and (elements or art)