Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles in Library Databases
To find articles published in magazines, journals, newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the Library's online databases. You are likely to find relevant information on topics relating to animal behavior in the Library's database, below.
- What Is a Scholarly Journal?From CSU Chico, Meriam Library.
Science Journal Databases (LPC Library)
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Suitable for research in botany, microbiology, zoology, and environmental studies. Includes 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and other publications such as conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports.
Sample search terms:
- dogs AND jealousy [OR emotions]
- infanticide AND lions
- cats AND socialization
- orcas OR "killer whales" AND vocalization
- dolphins AND "signature whistles" [OR whistl* / communication / language]
- chimpanzees AND social play
Examples of Scholarly, Peer Reviewed Journals
Open Access Journals
- PLOS: Public Library of Science Journals: BiologyUsers are free to read, copy, distribute, and enjoy the first-rate content without limits and at no charge. Crediting the author and original source is all that is required in return.
- BioMed CentralContains full-text online journals on various scientific topics including zoology, biology, and ecology.
- The Journal of Experimental Biologyfree full-text online journal in comparative animal physiology. It covers the form and function of living organisms at all levels of biological organisation, from the molecular and subcellular to the integrated whole animal. The authors include scientists who study molecular, cellular and organismal physiology in an evolutionarily and environmentally based context. Coverage dates from 1923 to present.
- HighWire: Free Online Full-text ArticlesA division of the Stanford University Libraries that provides indexing and full-text access to scholarly journals.
- SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive"An open access electronic journal archive and is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries. The content is available in searchable and browseable formats and documents can be downloaded as pdf or djvu files."
- PQDT Open: Dissertations and ThesesFull text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. From ProQuest.
Search Strategies
-
Identify key concepts. Include only useful or relevant keywords in your search.
-
Try synonyms and search Subject Terms, Subject Headings or Descriptors to maximize your search
-
Truncation tip: pred* will return results for predator, predatory, and predation.
-
Use Advanced Search to limit to document type, time period, material type, etc.
-
Refine results to just Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals
JSTOR at SFPL
The San Francisco Public Library provides access to many magazine and academic journal databases, including JSTOR. JSTOR has the full-text of many journals useful for the research of animals and animal behavior. In order to access JSTOR and other SFPL databases remotely, you need a SFPL library card and PIN.
SFPL Library Card Application Information
Applications due to LPC by Feb. 27, 2017:
- SFPL Library Card Application (pdf)Save to desktop, fill out pdf (not handwritten), print, sign form, and bring to LPC Library.